Dobro jutro!

The greeting in the title means “Good morning” in my language, Slovenian. Today I learned another meaning of “dobro”.

I saw this post by Francesca at Almost Italian, and the caption under the first photo made me curious. I’m sure there is plenty of goodness in her kitchen but so far there were no Slavic references. Can you guess what was in the photo without having a look?

I had to google it and the result made my morning. Wiki told me that “Dobro” was the name of the company and the instrument which was built in the USA by John Dopyera of Slovak origin and his brothers. He made this word from “Do” for Dopyera and “Bro” for brothers, but more importantly, “dobro” is a word for “good” in Slovak and several other Slavic languages.

The best part was the slogan his company was using: “Dobro means good in any language!”

And if you don’t know either what kind of instrument a dobro is, you’ll have to click on the link above and look at Francesca’s. I’d describe it as a guitar with internal organs showing.

Here is a photo from the earliest of mornings off my roof a while ago. Have a dobro day!

Photo: a © signature mmm production

9 Comments Add yours

  1. You probably know the joke about the Doberman(n)? Croatian colleagues told me, but it must work in all ex-Yugoslavian languages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, please, do tell!

      Like

      1. A French professor teaching at a Croatian university invited his mother from Paris (who didn’t know a word of Croation, unsurprisinly?). He was invited to dinner with his mother. She wanted him to teach her just a few Croatian phrases for smalltalk. No, he said, you’ll never remember, but why don’t you just say “Doberman(n)!” as a greeting. It almost sounds like dobre dan, people might assume you meant to say that.
        When they arrived at the dinnerparty, the mother put on a big smile and proudly said, “Labrador!”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I just checked – it’s dobar dan in Croatian.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, and it’s ‘dober dan’ in Slovenian. Love the little differences, and the joke. Just recently my phone inserted a doberman in a message I sent, instead of just ‘dober’. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci, Mamie! 🙂

      Like

  2. I do know what a Dobro is and have seen one played; I am a huge bluegrass fan. Lovely early morning picture from your roof

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m glad you know it and like my morning. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

