WPC: Niki’s numbers

As it happens in life, I find myself less than 15 minutes away from Niki de Saint Phalle’s Tarot Garden. This time I will show you her numbers.

“Il giardino dei tarocchi,” signs point. If one has made an (amateur) career out of playing Austro-Hungarian card game tarock (here a quick, not very well-played round to get an idea), one pricks one’s ears. Alas, what is meant here is tarot, which must be the origin of tarock cards as well.

No matter how often I visit, I always discover something new. But it was only now as I was searching in my archives for photos of numbers from the Garden that I paid proper attention to this board, consisting of 50 numbered tiles, placed on the sculpture called Tree of Life with grinning snakes for branches:

I have just read it from the first to the last for the first time. It describes her love for fellow artist and partner Jean Tinguely as it progressed in time. She does this in a very intimate, revealing manner. It feels like reading her diary. Or blog.

I wish to show you the tiles in more detail, that’s why I have divided them up into groups and wrote text out where not fully visible. I apologize for confusion and unlevelness. There is order to this madness, I promise. If you have patience, you can find all 50 tiles and read her story. Click on a photo and see it grow.

A collection of other numbers from the Giardino.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Numbers

16 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    Perfect for the prompt! Had you been waiting for the correct time to use them?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks, Judy, but no. I take so many photos! And I’ve been to the garden about a dozen times. There is just no way to use them all as I go. Sometimes I find an especially good connection between the prompt and what I’ve got. Even though I’ve been posting photos from there since the start of my first blog.

      Like

  2. rxfrazier says:

    Wow! I would say you ‘out numbered’ us all 🙂 . Very good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, rx, Niki did it. 🙂 Not that we are in competition.

      Like

    1. Merci, Mamie! 🙂

      Like

  3. I am so glad that you returned to the Tarot Garden for the Challenge. It is just bursting with numbers. Delightful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa, it’s always a great pleasure to return, and to see you hop around with me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a unique entry!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Janet. That she was.

      Like

  5. arv! says:

    great pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, arv! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. leannenz says:

    My dear friends are just about to head into Italy! They are in a camper van. If you happen to bump into a couple of kiwis ask them if they know Leanne! I sent them the links to the garden and have asked them to visit for me. I will send them a link to this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, Leanne, well done! Will be on the lookout. How do you lure a Kiwi closer? 😉 I’ll be curious to see their photos if they post them somewhere.

      Like

Talk to me

