Safari safari

What do you think of this?

There is a person who still enters my first blog through the post in which I compared Matter to the greatest Slovenian poet. It has five likes. I’ve read an article since in which another Slovenian poet is chosen as a comparison. We need to have this straight, who said what when. Great things in store and all that.

Without giving away all the lyrics – let’s just say that there are Armani saddles and Lipizzaner horses as well as Kurosawa, my antitheses (which they fuck), and a brand new word Kamnikfolija in the context “Inside me is Kamnikfolija”. There once used to be a Slovenian song “Inside me is California”, but not only: the word further joins their home-town Kamnik in Slovenia, melancholia, and folija=foil coupled with the junkie in another line (“I’m obsessed with meaning like a junkie, I’m a lie searching for the truth“). I hear Kamnikfolija is the war-cry that brings them back for the encore in the live setting.

Enough explanation.  This video is catchy for visual reasons too. Have a look and tell me what you think.

It was shot in a disused chemical factory near their hometown.

In the beginning they return because he left his cap behind.

There is a line “your asshole will freeze, your mommy said to me”.

And if you like it, have a look at Meduze too. There are jellyfish.

I’ve already told them that Toscana would make an excellent next hit title.

Featured photo: Toscana safari. A © signature mmm production

4 Comments Add yours

  1. These tracks are now amongst my favourite Slovenian rap tracks…certainly in the top 50.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Huh, don’t tempt me, Nick, or I’ll make you that top 50.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha – is that a promise or a threat? Nx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Here, this one takes the number one spot, I translated it a while ago:

        https://manjamaksimovic.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/im-a-slovenian/

        Like

Talk to me

