WPC: Purity of intent

Before taking me with him to Italy three plus years ago, amore signed a letter of intent and gave it to my parents. Don’t know about you, but I’d circle “impressed”.

Sometimes we come back and then it’s time to “discover my immediate neighbourhood” as we did in primary school when I started it 40 years ago. This time it was surprisingly basic, almost pure.

You see, before moving to Italy I’d been living in the same street all my life. The only thing I managed was move a few houses down the street from my parents to another apartment they own.

I invite you to come along as if it’s your first time. This is Bežigrad district. The city of Ljubljana. The state of Slovenia. (Still Yugoslavia when I was growing up.) As hardcore a childhood as it gets.

I might be jovial about it but it was a lovely stroll down the memory lane. Full of trees and flowers, and lacking in inquisitive glances. Right by me.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Pure

10 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    So is that your amore in the blue shirt?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, Judy! Do you know something I don’t? Have I been following a wrong man and beast all along? 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lifelessons says:

        Ha. You Nancy Drews get so distracted.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. maksi2016 says:

    Ko se zbudijo spomini… se zbudiš v Capalbiu…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ada says:

    I have read a book (about twenty years ago) from France Bevk, it was called The Salt of the Earth or something like that. I don’t really remember much but that it was about a priest and it was rather deprimating…

    Actually, that’s the only piece of Slowenian literature I’ve ever read. Do you maybe have any recommendations?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hihihhi, the fact that amore is sleeping behind my back is the only reason why I don’t burst into a fit of giggles: “rather deprimating” is the best collective description of Slovenian literature against which I had to fight in school. The title doesn’t ring any bells, but I’m not familiar with English translation of his works. Try “Alamut” by Vladimir Bartol. It’s old as well but surprisingly topical. (Early) Tomaž Šalamun for poetry, Slavoj Žižek for philosophy, and you’re set. 😉

      Like

  4. ada says:

    Thanks! II’ll look for some translations in the main library in Budapest, they have almost everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

