Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: (Not Jeff) Bridges

Not done with Roma yet, as if it was possible to be done with Roma. Today one bridge for Cee, leading to the island with a special function.

When I announced to my family that I was going to Roma on my first visit, there could have been a vast misunderstanding if left at that. In Slovenian language, a woman “goes to Roma” when she is pregnant. I wonder if this is internationally used, but I think not.

I also wonder if the origin of this expression is connected to the most beautiful and beautifully located maternity hospital far and wide: on the island in the middle of the Tiber. My amore was born here, as well as countless other Romans. And the Pons Cestius bridge can take you there, if it’s urgent.

As for me… I prefer to stay on this bank, with brand new books. Other people’s, until I start popping out my own.  (Pop on any photo and see it grow.)

Photo: a © signature mmm production (except the last)

For:

CFFC

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Wonderful entry for this week’s bridges. Thanks for playing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Cee, and thank you!

      Like

  2. Great shots, great bridges.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Angela! 🙂 It’s all one and the same bridge from different angles.

      Like

      1. I actually realized that afterwards! 😁 must stop using my mobile to look at posts!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The b&w one really could be taken long ago, Rome looks good in timeless monochrome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SSW, thanks. Timeless eternal city indeed.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. wonderful lights and colors. A real special homage to the city! Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Markus. 🙂 Means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. afarawayhome says:

    I love the angles on some of these photos – beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

