Glass house

“Did you see those glass shards?” Dad asked. I hadn’t. Can’t decide if it’s passive aggressive or sensible protection. In any case, it’s shiny. And it beats barbed wire.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

10 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    A common security precaution in Mexico, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do you like it, Judy? Or does it put you off? Do they use cacti for the same purpose too, as in Peru?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lifelessons says:

        No, although frequently cacti grow on the roof tiles as volunteers. They use metal spikes that look like maguey cacti along the tops of walls frequently. Sort of a starburst shape. As for being put off, anything is better than the razor wire coils used by some along the tops of walls. They look like prisons.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Suvi says:

    Oh yeah, imagine falling on that, OMG!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Suvi, yeah, better to just observe it from afar.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joannesisco says:

    I’ve seen this before. I thought it was a deterrent for birds – especially pigeons and seagulls. I had no idea it was to deter humans!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t around here. This reminds me of the time when my neighbour set up tall, sharp pigeon spikes to deter a cat. Let’s just say the cat won. 😀

      Like

      1. joannesisco says:

        No!! Don’t say that!! My husband just spent an entire day putting up pigeon spikes along our chimney wall to deter the raccoons from climbing on our roof.
        I’m going to hope that our neighbourhood raccoons are lazier than the average cat and won’t bother.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hihih. Wouldn’t know about raccoons, I’ve never seen one in action.

        Like

      3. joannesisco says:

        They’re destructive little devils. I’d happily send you all of ours :/

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

