Take the Chair, please

Stol, German Hochstuhl. “The Chair”, this is what the name of this mountain means. It certainly feels good to sit down on its top.

I was reminded of it this summer when we were driving home from our lovely day at Lake Bled and I took the photo above from the speeding car. Which peak looks more like a chair to you?

My first internet=>flesh friend Alenka was the last to spur me into hiking, but now I’m far and she has little control. This was seven years ago, and while my friend has not stopped climbing mountains since, I have become much more sedentary.

The last thing she managed was take me to discover Etruscan trenches when she visited us, and when we visited her in Slovenia she made us walk for full ten minutes to the lovely Rinka waterfall. For the next year she already promises a lake and a castle. Thank you for taking care of me. 🙂

This was an approximately 3-hour hike (one way) over the mind-blowingly gorgeous terrain, as you can see below, with views of surrounding mountains and Lake Bled. You can park quite high up, above 1000 m, so that it’s only another +1000 m of vertical distance to the top at 2236 metres (or 7,336 feet).

This is how you conquer Stol, the highest peak of the Karawanks mountain range on the border between Slovenia and Austria. And when you return, you can restock the calories at Lovski dom Stol restaurant. Great memories, and not just of the food.

Photo: a © signature mmm production (+ the four of me by Alenka. Thank you!)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos. Hiking to the same altitude as a plane, is pretty impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. It was not a very big plane, but I don’t it was a model plane either. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Impressionnant! Un beau souvenir, indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Wow, that was some stunning scenery 🙂 Thanks for sharing that wow with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Joey. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jan says:

    Looks like a great hike! I probably wouldn’t make it up that mountain so good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jan. Well, nowadays that would be a big if!

      Like

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    I’ve been to Bled, but only in the pouring rain … with heavy fog. Even then, it was fairy tale beautiful.

    So this is what it looks like when you can see the mountains!!! Fantastic! The view is incredible. What a perfect way to spend a day.

    *sigh* … sadly, I’m on the other side of the pond.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Joanne, you must come back. The pond is navigable. 🙂

      Like

      1. Joanne Sisco says:

        If I ever do, you’ll hear from me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. So on my bucket list! Magnificent views are always worth the hike..even if I have to ask someone what I am looking at 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, right, Lisa, that’s the least of your worries! And I’m glad that the nail-biting rescue wasn’t your own!!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

