WPC: Transmogrify this!

What I love most about having a blog is that nobody can tell me what to do, because nobody is paying me for doing it. Weekly challenge? I can come up with whatever I wish and nobody can call it silly or off the point.

But first, as it’s become a custom, a short walk through the last week on my blog. There were:

  1. a varied compilation of shiny moments,
  2. a visit to a non-boring Etruscan museum,
  3. a disembodied laptop with a happy ending,
  4. Italian declarations of love on the walls,
  5. a glorious visit to the Slovenian Chair mountain,
  6. and various doors and roll-ups from Roma’s Monteverde.

This week I’m grateful to the Weekly Photo Challenge for learning a new word (I know smorgasbord, are they related? Next week’s theme, perhaps?), but in my life things are as they are, and tend to stay as they are, and we like it this way. Unless of course I move borders and change countries, languages, packs, climates, everything, really, but once was enough – one cannot go around doing it every time somebody says Transmogrify.

This is the story of the town called Koper (Capodistria in Italian, this is bilingual territory), the 6th biggest Slovenian city actually and the biggest Slovenian port, by the Adriatic sea, about 20 km from Trieste, and one of its pizzerias, conveniently called Marina, since it is located near the big port and a small marina.

This is also to show how pointless it would be for anybody to read this post if it was sponsored by the restaurant in question. (Or by the beer manufacturer proudly featured on the featured photo. WAITAMINUTE! Does it count if my uncle who worked for this brewery all his life paid us dinner there one time?? :o)

We found it by “accident” the first time amore visited my country. He loved the pizza there so much that the first chance he got he wished to repeat it. And that says a lot, coming from an Italian.

Who would have thought, but the second time, only eight months after the first, things were very different. In the meantime I’d moved to Italy and was back to the country of origin with amore and his daughters on my first visit since the move.

Here are some photos from that visit three years ago.

And then I told about it to a relative. “Go,” I said. “You’ll love it, we had to go right back, amore loved it so much.” Next thing I got from her was a long email with plenty of bullet-points pointing out what all was wrong. (She does audits,  after all.) Not food, but everything else. I was surprised because we loved the service as well.

After that we visited again. They let bestia in even, despite two dog-prohibiting stickers on the door. We again ate well in a friendly atmosphere. So the next time mom was about to visit this relative, I told her cheekily: “Tell her to go to Marina.” The next thing I knew was another email from her telling me that she indeed went again, how they loved it this time, and how happy she was to return and wash away the bad taste. Another waitress, a completely different picture.

All this went through my mind this summer as we were approaching Marina once again. Which waitress would it be? Were we in luck? Indeed it was again the woman we came to love and everything was as we remembered it.

See, not even the view of the marina has changed (just the camera has upgraded and Italy has gotten rosy).

Something was new this time though: for a change from my usual frutti di mare pizza, I had baked pasta in dough. I have never seen or tasted anything like that and it was delicious.

So what has actually transmogrified in this post? Well, we went to a bar nearby after dinner and these lights were doing it all the time. Just look at them.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Transmogrify

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    Pizza with french fries is fairly popular here too. That’s waaaaay too many carbs for me but some folks like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, I see, Norm, good to know. Even though to roll pasta in pizza dough is an overkill as well. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Pasta rolled in pizza dough with a side order of fries….Makes sense to me. 😆

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hihih, A&A, it was after some serious shopping walking. We were hungry ! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No offense intended. 😀 The food looked really good and filling. Especially the pasta in pizza dough. What kind of sauce was in there?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It was some sort of ragu, like bolognese (even though in Italy nobody uses this word).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jan says:

    The view from the marina looks like jellyfish bobbing in the sea!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hehe, Jan, now that you mention it…

      Like

    1. Thank you, Sunny, glad to hear it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Susanne says:

    I’d say that pasta was transmogrified into a pie and it looks delicious. The 8th photo from the bottom of the view from Marina with the restaurant lights in the reflection of the window is marvelous! The lights look transmogrified into jellyfish or maybe UFOs!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hehe, Susanne, I knew I could count on you to find some runaway transmogrifications. 🙂 Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. That’s exactly what I thought: jellyfish spaceships!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe, Crystal, goes well with the territory.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Great tale!
    I LOVED Man & Door. I think I will be using Man & Door in a post or two. Copyright mmm productions, of course. Man & Door…yes…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joey! A combo hard to beat. Feel free to peruse it free of copyright. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        I shall endeavor to make it happen. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember seeing Italians pour olive oil on their pizzas in abundance… as if it need more fat with that cheese and salami!! But at least it’s the good kind of fat 🙂 Lovely writing and, as always, also loved the photo captions. Especially the internet connection one, hihihih!!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, SMSW, happy to make you chuckle. 🙂 If they don’t eat fries with it, they have an antipasto first, such as crostini or, in Roma, supplì – fried rice balls with mozzarella inside. I barely manage a pizza and a beer!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Suvi says:

    Pizza with french fries? OMG, how can someone do it? I love the bar, I would like to be sitting out there right this minute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Suvi, easily, obviously. 😀 After paying 9,90 EUR for one mojito on the roof of the Piran hotel, this bar was a breeze. I think Chivas was 6 or 7 EUR.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    Pasta in pizza dough?! Wow. Just wow. That’s way too much carbs for me too. Throw french fries on top and you might as well kill me know. I’d be trying to digest it for a week.

    As usual, I love the mood you create with your photos and their captions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joanne. 🙂 Also – I had lettuce, see?? 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joanne Sisco says:

        Whew! A vegetable made it in there 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. If you have a look at my About me, you’ll see that I’m a salad queen. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

