Your Slovenian graffiti whisperer

I recently posted some Italian public displays of emotions. Now Slovenia strikes back.

Yesterday Snow that luckily Melts Somewhere else linked to my post among things that she finds inspiring, which spurred some not so favourable comments from Italians. I understand that if you have to pay for the removal of the graffiti, you don’t care what it says, but I still take love over death.

This is a collection of images from Slovenia taken over the last three years (some posted already on my first blog). I tend to read everything I see, you see, and sometimes I wonder how I would suffer in a country with a fully unknown language or even alphabet and with nobody to translate graffiti for me. I find it the best way to get to know the natives.

So I invite you on a walk and think of me as your graffiti whisperer. You’ll see – by the end of it we will be missing the Italians.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

20 Comments Add yours

  1. I hope the same Italians read this post, because this explains your point so well! There’s always graffiti in every town it’s always the taxpayers who pay. The point was the messages in it. Over here, too, it’s always cursing, angry, negative stuff. Sorry you got negative comments because of my link! That wasn’t my intention 😊 Peace to everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, SMSW, I didn’t get any negative comments, Italian graffiti in general did. 🙂 Actually, it brought me an insight into a very interesting blog, the one called Are We There Yet? Thank you in any case for getting inspired on love.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci, Mamie! 🙂 If I visited Canada or France and saw graffiti in French, I’d need a whisperer too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for the translation. Still pretty sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Dan. It’s the nation, and it spills on walls.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Graffiti is art, just not everyone shares the same taste. This is a good collection, lil of this, lil of that — I likey. I still prefer the Loooooove 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joey. I’ll always prefer love. And reading. I like reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. awtytravels says:

    Some graffiti can be funny. I studied in Turin, and there were a lot of heavy-left-wing collectives around where I was staying, and graffiti were obligingly anti-clerical. “Meno fusilli, piu’ strozzapreti” was the best one. I love the “I feel Slovakia” one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to ask him about “strozzapreti”, can’t say I remember which pasta this is. And I thought ‘fusilli’ comes from a word for guns but he doesn’t seem to agree. My Italian is still getting there. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. awtytravels says:

        Well, the joke was that ‘strozzapreti’ are, literally, those that choke the priest. As for fusilli, I think it could’ve been rigatoni, mezze penne, farfalle…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I received the translation as well, I was merely thinking that the first half was part of the joke as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. awtytravels says:

        Ah, got it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. See, here’s another reason for you to visit Portugal: student towns like Coimbra have a bunch of graffiti (and plenty of students for translation duty)! One of my favourites said “Let’s write on the walls!”, to which somebody else added “Why?”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehhe, good one. Thanks, Verne Jules. 🙂 Coimbra and Porto then… Let me see if they are close.

      Like

      1. Hum, on the map seems roughly the same distance needed to cross Slovenia north to south! ~90km? – Verne

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, roughly, not by roads though. The highway that crosses Slovenia from NW to SE is 175 km long.

        Like

      3. Oh, in that case it’s much less to get you from Porto to Coimbra. An hour or maybe less, if you put some Greek driving into it 🙂 – Verne

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

