Siena statues

I was in Siena twice so far, but never for the Palio race. Here is a collection of statues and sculptures and monuments (hm, how exactly are these three different?) and right at the end a proof that in Italy not all is love.

I shall not give much information on the statues but rather let you stroll around at your own pace. The fountain is in the square where the Palio is held. The details are from the Cathedral. The boy playing is my favourite. Another post from Siena can be found here.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

The following video from last year’s Palio race belongs to the “truth be told” category. Father sent me the link and I couldn’t even watch it all the way through, but I saw enough to stay away for every next Palio.

Be advised against watching this if you abhor violence as much as I do.

Suffice to say, there is this and that to every nation. It’s on you to take the best of all words.

ADD-IT: The video has been removed from YouTube since and I don’t wish to search for a similar one. It was too brutal.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Siena and wish to go back some day. Thank you for the post. It brings back memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Sunny. I love it too and haven’t nearly explored it enough.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    Some great shots, but that is a very scary video.
    We were there in 2013 but not for the races. Though I have always wanted to be there for the races, but now after seeing the video…maybe not as much.
    I do wonder how much the violence is fueled not only by big egos and testosterone, but by large wagers placed on the outcome of the races. Whatever the reason, it is just sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Norm, and agreed. As if Juliet’s and Romeo’s camps were still fighting – not much has changed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos! Thanks for these places with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan, and you’re very welcome.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. dennyho says:

    A quaint, lovely little town nice to visit when THIS is NOT happening! I love your photos, they take me back to my wonderful Siena visit. Our guide did explain how competetive the town’s villages become each year to win back the flag but thankfully did not go into the gorey details.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Denny, I’m glad you got to see it, it’s an amazing town alright. I’m not sure if it’s like this each year, but I don’t see any reason why I should go there just then and crowd.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Manja, In that photo of the boy, is that the door knocker way up above the door? Love the door and the lights and that sculpture!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cady! If that is a knocker, it’s a bit misplaced, agreed? 🙂

      Like

  6. Mama Cormier says:

    I love the boy sculpture as well. We didn’t get to Siena this time round. I’ll make sure to avoid going there when the Palio race is on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mama Cormier. 🙂 I can’t even imagine tourist crowds on those days. It’s crowded already on a normal day.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. great captures of the statuary…and in my much younger days i’ve been in a few drunken punk-rock mosh pits that unfortunately turned into similar brawls…why can’t we all be friends. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Elusive. Ohh, I was in several mosh pits myself, I always preferred that to sitting down (until I got older :D) but nothing as organised, fearless and idiotic comes to mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

