Dear Niki

I visited you ten times already. Tomorrow may be 11th.

Il giardino dei tarocchi, the Tarot Garden, is where French artist Niki de Saint Phalle was living for a while, creating the world around her. Her accommodation most resembled living in a disco ball, that’s why I’m not surprised to learn that she only lasted there for a short time and then built further underground and arranged a flat down there (to be investigated in situ – they don’t show that to visitors!).

When I moved to south Tuscany 3.5 years ago, I found a list of Tuscan attractions online and the Giardino made no. 1. (I think Sovana, Pitigliano and Terme Saturnia were in the top 5, that’s how I learnt of the first two at all. Amore had never been there before.)

Tomorrow is the first Saturday of the month, and in the months from November through March this means an Open Door Day, and that’s when I pounce. See you there, but only until 1pm.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

For those who like to linkhop, more posts on the Giardino from my old blog and one from the new:

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! She lived in there. I think I would have had to go sooner than a month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, agreed, Joseph, I think I’d last one hour.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jan says:

    Wow! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jan! Pretty special indeed!

      Like

  3. Intense! Reminful of Gaudi Park in Barcelona. Bit much as a home though!

    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Peta. Haven’t been to Barcelona yet, but Gaudi was a big inspiration of Niki, yes. However, today is a bit of a chaos outside weather-wise, I’m not sure I’ll go. :p

      Like

  4. Leya says:

    Very special!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She is indeed, Leya, thank you!

      Like

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    OMG – the colours! The visual overstimulation!

    … cool place to visit though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, Joanne, visual stimulation is right, but “over” is a matter of taste, stamina and expectations. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

