Ancient Vetulonia now

We already visited the interior of the Etruscan museum, and now it’s time to have a look around.

Vetulonia is said to be one of the largest metropolises of the Etruscans, and strolling around it and breathing that fresh air you get to feel – a bit more there, if not exactly rejuvenated. Or is it just tired?

Outside the museum there is a beautiful view towards the sea (and Castiglione della Pescaia), a tiny town with one working bar, and further down the road that leads back to the valley below – remains of an Etruscan settlement and several tombs. We only saw the first couple of them, the “Diavolino II.” is waiting for the next time. All in all, a lovely day.

I’m back to my (almost) standard twenty photos, but this time they are in a neat gallery. In order to view it, click on the first photo and proceed horizontally.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

8 Comments Add yours

  1. entre autres le selfie, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hihi, Mamie, sometimes I do that too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an excellent post–loved the photos and your narration. It brought me back to my happy times in Italy. I was very intrigued by Etruscan culture. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Naomi, good to see you here! I’m glad that you enjoyed it and that you’ve found the first part of our visit inside the museum as well. I don’t know much about them but am learning and like them already. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. On my last trip to Italy we stayed in Orvieto and traveled around making day trips to Etruscan sites. Your post really makes me want to learn more.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, Orvieto! This is where we drive to, to pick our guests who arrive by train. 🙂 That’s why I was there often but haven’t explored it enough: we’re always in a hurry either to go home, or they must board a train to return. I’ve seen the St. Patrick’s fountain though, and it’s amazing. I’m also curious about your adventures around here!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My favorite discovery was Pitigliano. Orvieto is beautiful–officially one of the Slow Italy towns. The museum there is fantastic. But I was touched by the story of Pitigliano. https://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/survival-stories/

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you so much for this link. I will explore your blog some more. I’ve been to Pitigliano often but don’t know its story. There is something special about it for sure. And I’ll make sure to visit the Orvieto museum too. Thank you! Here is my post on Pitigliano from my first blog:

        https://manjamaksimovic.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/all-the-roads-lead-to-pitigliano/

        Like

Talk to me

