36 questions

I found the questions below in the attached New York Times article, and vulnerable as I obviously like to be promptly answered them. Whatever you do today, make it lead to love.

Set I

1. Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest? Jeanette Winterson. Eddie Vedder. Dom Twist.

2. Would you like to be famous? In what way? A little bit as a writer. Perhaps.

3. Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why? I rarely make telephone calls. The start of it probably runs through my mind.

4. What would constitute a “perfect” day for you? A new place. A new food. A new emotion. In company other than the dog.

5. When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else? I sing to the dog. He looks at me with the palette of expressions. Possibly strongest is: Why?

6. If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want? Always the mind. And your ass will follow.

7. Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die? I have a hunch about how I have died. The axe to the neck in the woods. I wore Stefanel-seeming clothing.

8. Name three things you and your partner appear to have in common. A bit of anarchy. Sense of humour. Loyalty.

9. For what in your life do you feel most grateful? Parents. 

10. If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be? Oh, I’ve said “parents” yet… 😀 I’d require more kicks to the butt, and we all know it. 

11. Take four minutes and tell your partner your life story in as much detail as possible. Well, this will have to be done in a separate post. I’ll time it. But I fear he will only read it if it’s in Italian.

12. If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be? The kind of self-esteem that doesn’t come off as arrogance. 

Set II

13. If a crystal ball could tell you the truth about yourself, your life, the future or anything else, what would you want to know? Nothing. I know what I need to know. I discover my truths in time, with time, just in time.

14. Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it? I’m lazy. I’m too lazy to put it in words.

15. What is the greatest accomplishment of your life? I’m taking more time to think of this one than of other questions. That’s not the accomplishment! Staying true to myself.

16. What do you value most in a friendship? Loyalty, truth, up-building. 

17. What is your most treasured memory? They are all more or less level. They all constitute my past. One time I dived a dropped object out of the sea. It was pretty deep.

18. What is your most terrible memory? Why rate memories of all things? I think I’ve obliterated all the terrible ones. Even though I don’t think anything truly terrible has ever happened to me.

19. If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why? Nah. I will die suddenly anyway, even if I’m 100. Which I expect to reach.

20. What does friendship mean to you? This was already asked. It’s cool.

21. What roles do love and affection play in your life? Very important roles. 

22. Alternate sharing something you consider a positive characteristic of your partner. Share a total of five items. He is reliable, caring, sensitive, patient, smart.

23. How close and warm is your family? Do you feel your childhood was happier than most other people’s? Yes, I do. I feel blessed and lucky. My childhood was too good to be true. Sometimes too good is a bit of a burden too. 🙂

24. How do you feel about your relationship with your mother? My mother is a rapper. Nuff said. We love each other very much. ❤

Set III

25. Make three true “we” statements each. For instance, “We are both in this room feeling … “ We are both just where we are in time and space and nowhere else. Consider the likelihood of this. We are both stubborn, and lazy, and golosi (=gluttonous). We are both willing to speak the truth.

26. Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share … “ hm… dog hair? 🙂 Kisses? Everything?

27. If you were going to become a close friend with your partner, please share what would be important for him or her to know. This is obviously a question for the first date. On our first date we had to first synchronise languages. His command of English was merely in the written format. And I’ve got Melanija’s accent. 

28. Tell your partner what you like about them; be very honest this time, saying things that you might not say to someone you’ve just met. Mhhh, I’m always very honest and don’t care if I’m talking to somebody I’ve just met or have known forever. I love it the most when he smiles, and when we talk, and when I watch him work or bond with the dog. 

29. Share with your partner an embarrassing moment in your life. He witnesses them as we go. An old embarrassing moment would be when a friend’s rottweiler was emitting some noises under the table and I said he was purring, while actually he was getting ready to attack.

30. When did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself? I sometimes cry to the dog, or to the moon, or to the wind. Usually it’s from powerlessness. I also cry at emotional content. I think the last time was during a dog commercial.

31. Tell your partner something that you like about them already. I tell it all the time. He is a good man. One of the first things I loved about him was his capacity to laugh at himself.

32. What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about? Hm. Rape. Corruption of the innocent. Incest. Innocent lives lost.

33. If you were to die this evening with no opportunity to communicate with anyone, what would you most regret not having told someone? Why haven’t you told them yet? Not one to regret things. So be it. (Ok, maybe: “Don’t read THAT!”)

34. Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones and pets, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why? Laptop. (I know, terrible.)

35. Of all the people in your family, whose death would you find most disturbing? Why? Grrrrr, what kind of question is that? If my partner asked me that, I’d start having second thoughts about him.

36. Share a personal problem and ask your partner’s advice on how he or she might handle it. Also, ask your partner to reflect back to you how you seem to be feeling about the problem you have chosen. We are doing this often. As an empath, he is quick with suggestions. I also ask him how to handle him and he tells me. 


If you wish to answer the questions above for yourselves, be my guest. And if you feel that reading them you just lost a bit of time, here is an interesting game you may like. I have not yet tried it out but I think I shall. The catchline goes: “Explore dead civilizations, write about what you find, and share your stories with the world.”

For the photo part of the post, I’ve selected some images from my first visit to Roma and my present hometown just over four years ago. Now, does time fly or do we just stand still?

Photo: a © signature mmm production (and three of me by MC)

13 Comments Add yours

  1. After reading this I am even more glad to have met you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Claudia, thank you so much for saying this. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a fun read. Both the original text of the questions in the article and your responses.

    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Peta, I’m glad you did it and told me about it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    That held very few surprises to me, and yet it was still interesting. #7 gave me goosebumps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s hot it goes, my lack of surprises is surprising in itself. 😀 #7 is the result of being a test bunny in a ‘Heart and Soul Healing’ seminar (on request). They wanted to know how I died in a past life and this image came to mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        Seriously, I got goosebumps.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That should say ‘That’s how it goes’. And I’m sorry for your goosebumps.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. My favorite answer was number 5. I can just see bestia (aaawww…!!!!) ❤ I don't seriously believe in past lives or zodiac signs but sometimes its fun to talk about this stuff. I always said that I was a seaman in one past life and I lived in Africa in another.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, SMSW, so good to see over. Have some tea with Slovenian rum in case you’re cold. 🙂 Make me wish to have one myself but bestia doesn’t drink. Oh, I don’t believe in it either, as you can imagine, but I was requested to do that seminar (as I replied to Joey above) and this thought just came to my mind. Seaman is good. I bet we’ve met. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jolene says:

    Your responses were hilarious. But on a serious note, I can relate most to your response for Q4 – A new place, new food & new emotion does sound tantalisingly close to a perfect day.
    BTW, I like how you’ve customised the colour for your blog theme, perhaps I’ll explore a twist to mine too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jolene, for making me read this again. I realise I haven’t timed myself for that 4-minute life story yet. As for the colour scheme, it’s one of the preset ones, I think. I’m not very good at that, so it must have been offered to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

