Thursday Doors, December 8

One thinks that one has seen them all, the doors of Tuscany. And then one comes to Siena. This is the first part of Siena doors.

And here it is again, the day when my friend D. and Jim Morrison were born and when John Lennon died and when it’s the surprising holiday in Italy – I forget about it every year. More on all that in my last year’s post on my first blog. And if you’re curious about my top twenty The Doors songs, see this post.

But now, Siena. This is a combination of photos from my two visits. Both times we took approximately the same route and naturally I often took photos of the same doors. I chose the better photo, except when uncle gives perspective.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

47 Comments Add yours

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    What a festival of beautiful doors!
    We only spent an afternoon in Siena but it was enough to see that I’d have to go back for an entire week to walk the streets just to capture the interesting doors.
    You don’t need that poster – you could make your own and it would be even nicer 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Norm. I didn’t get it, a good idea though. 😉 Siena is somehow not fully of this world. I was not prepared for it.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Beautiful doors. I agree with Norm. You don’t need that poster. I’ve seen several such posters now, in my travels, the most recent in Saint John, New Brunswick, where a local painter has created a poster, which sells better than her other paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, Ed, thanks. We can see here, how many people love doors, there’s definitely a clientele out there!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are two groups: the door people and a sub set, window people 🙂 Both equally passionate.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Heheh, I’m flexible in this regard. I often take photos of both at the same time, as the face should be photographed. No use to concentrate only on the mouth.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. WOWZA, so many beautiful doors! You hit the jack-pot! I loved that poster of the doors too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Deborah. It doesn’t end, it’s just more and more of them…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Amazing door collection. So much incredible detail in the carved woods. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joey! Try to imagine walking there without getting overdoored.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        Ooh, I’d like to try 😉
        But so hot. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    Very nice, very pretty doors! I love the color of the wood, it’s so warm and inviting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Mary. “Inviting” is a good word. The town just sucks in.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. jan says:

    Hard to beat these doors! Amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jan. I think the second half might beat this one. 😉 We’ll see in a few Thursdays.

      Like

  7. slfinnell says:

    So many wooden doors in one place! The door owners have no idea how many of us are in awe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, Katy, I’m certain that you’re right! And they wouldn’t believe it even if they saw it here. 😀

      Like

  8. jesh stg says:

    Love to see all the doors I/we missed in Tuscany:) My top favorite is your 9th capture, after the one with the poster! It seems everywhere one goes in Italy there are tourists, which you can’t always avoid in your shots! Love the lady eating the ice cream:):)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jesh! I think there will always me more of those that we’ve missed. Siena is especially full of doors and tourists. Must be connected! 😀

      Like

      1. jesh stg says:

        I guess, it’s our European side:) I remember there was a time that we always got together with friends after our summer vacation, specifically for the reason to share all the details of the places we and they had been:) Lol, Thursday Doors feels a little like that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Doesn’t it now… In fact, the whole blogging does. But maybe it’s because I have nothing but European sides. 😉

        Like

      3. jesh stg says:

        Haha – your American English is too good for that! Oh, and your blog – it’s bold, big, and beautiful -no minimalism – your very American side:)

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Pssst, you know what? I think Slavic people are a bit like this too. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      5. jesh stg says:

        With Dutchmen it’s a different story:) But I have Americanized quite a bit!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Dan Antion says:

    Panel doors, arched doors and doors within doors. All nicely made. I love the one with the little bit of metal work above it. I also like the multi-panel doors. All beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. You’re right, so many have that metal bit above. Possibly more than in other towns? A matter of potential investigation.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. dennyho says:

    These doors are terrific and heavy, some simple, some ornate. I like your Siena collection. Ciao bella!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Denny! The second part coming up in the weeks to come. Ciao right back!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a beautiful place, Manja. I didn’t realize how small that door under the balcony was until I saw your uncle stand beside it – unless he’s a very tall man 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, Jean, no no, he’s not a giant. 🙂 And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. jazzytower says:

    This looks like a great place to get lost and wander in. Doors are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jazzy. 🙂 Didn’t manage to get lost yet…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jazzytower says:

        :)) A good thing..

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Great gallery again. I really like the first one. What I’d really like to see in Siena is the Palio! 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Janet. Now look at this post, especially the video at the end, and say that again!

      https://manjameximovie.wordpress.com/2016/11/01/siena-statues/

      Like

      1. I don’t have time right now to watch the video, but we saw a several hour-long special on the Palio once, so I know what it’s like. I know that I wouldn’t really want to be there, but the race itself is fascinating…as is the rest of it, but from a safe distance.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, probably it’s best if you don’t watch much of it at all, it’s quite terrible. Even without knowing what goes on I found the multitude of tourists overwhelming at it was on an ordinary April and September day (I was there twice).

        Like

      3. I know. That part (all the people) would be too much for me even if the rest was fun.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Wonderful pics. Just how tall is your male model?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margo! Hm, my uncle is about 1.80m, I should think. Let’s see how much this is… 5 feet 10.

      Like

  15. I loved Sienna when l was there in 1997. I didn’t pay good enough attention to the doors, so l guess I’ll have to go back. Lovely pictures

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jenna! It’s the doors – they keep their eyes on you. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Vicky says:

    Ooh, what a door-city find..lovely! Uncle is helpful for our perspective too, we would understand how small or tall they are without Uncle..he is a very good reference!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Vicky, I thought the same. 😀 And I bet he does too…

      Liked by 1 person

  17. I loved Sienna too; was there last year but only for a day tour to Tuscany and it’s a great place for photographers. I’ll have to review my photos to see what kinds of doors I shot (I was busy shooting everything so I don’t remember what I shot). Nice collection of doors, Manja!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Gordon. Oh yes, it keeps us busy.

      Like

Talk to me

