Thursday Doors, February 9 2017

We are back to Siena for another doorfest.

Which reminds me: my sister, who did the guest Asian Thursday Doors post on here last week, said, reading all your encouraging comments: “You all are so cute! Such enthusiasm! As if they were puppies and not doors.”

Here they are then, almost twenty Siena door puppies. Included is one close-up, so you can see that from up close these ancient doors are far from clean. There is bestia, and uncle you know already too. The first part of Siena doors can be found here. 

Photo: © signature mmm

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

44 Comments Add yours

  1. Vicky says:

    Oh, oh, oh, just gorgeous, Sienna is on my bucket list now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Vicky, deserves it too!

      Like

  2. I’ll go with the unique design on the third door, although they’re all lovely.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  3. conspicari says:

    Wow, fantastic set of doors. :>)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Conspicari, that’s Siena for you…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    All beautiful but I love the large wooden ones with many small square panels.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. This type seemed to be popular in Siena.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. We bloggers love doors just as much as puppies, crazy bunch 😉😄

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hehe, SMSW, I see! And it’s right this way. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Helen! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Candy says:

    What a fabulous collection of doors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, Candy!

      Like

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    I am with Janet; the 3rd one is such a unique design it stands out even more than the others for me. You’ve motivated me to go back through my archives and look at my pics from Siena again too.
    Your sister has a great sense of humour.
    So from now on this is how I’ll compliment nice doors:
    “Ahh look at that cute door!”
    “Who’s a pretty door?” *Gently petting the door*
    “YOU’RE a pretty door, that’s who!” 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hhahhaha, imagine somebody overhearing that! As if we were not nutty enough! 😀 Have you found any nice Siena doors yet? I think there, more than in other places, they keep jumping in the frame. And thanks, Norm, I think this is exactly how sis meant it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Norm 2.0 says:

        It seems that I wasn’t the door fanatic that I am today. Very few door pics from Siena. Lots of shots from inside the Duomo though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And I haven’t been inside the Duomo yet…

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Joanne Sisco says:

      “Who’s a pretty door?” *Gently petting the door*
      “YOU’RE a pretty door, that’s who!”

      Bwahahahahaha!!!!

      I think this is going to stick now whenever I see a door that makes me say wow! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hihih, he surely hit the spot, didn’t he?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Joanne Sisco says:

        That was THE BEST door comment I’ve read yet! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, I was oohing, and ahhing throughout this post. Such gorgeous and interesting doors! You hit the jackpot!

    That door with all the little panels, and busts on the wall is AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Deborah! It’s a question whether this door opens at all… Maybe just for some major religious feast.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Making it all the more special! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. jan says:

    Amazing door – love the pinkish one. A church?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pinkish walls, you mean, Jan? Can’t find any pinkish door. The grand building with huge doors and slightly pinkish walls is Siena Cathedral.

      Like

  10. joey says:

    Yeah, these are some magnificent beauties! Wow on the one you have featured and wow on so many of them! Holy crap, that’s a fine door city!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Joey, it is, it is, and not just that, I hope you see it one day. And thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Great selection of doors and nice interesting compositions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bulldog girl 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. jazzytower says:

    A lovely set of doors, love, love the 3rd one though:))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jazzy! 🙂

      Like

  13. Vanessa says:

    I visited Siena once – it seems a lifetime ago! – and I loved the architecture. Thanks for bringing back those memories with these beautiful doors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Vanessa. I must say that out of everything I’ve seen in Italy so far, Siena made the strongest impression.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh I love, love, love the door in the curved wall! It’s just wonderful. I’m dying to get through it. And I also love the double doors with big round knobs right in the center, at chest level. I saw knobs like that in Santiago. That is not a thing here in the US, so obviously, I think instantly of Hobbits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Crystal, good to see you hop around my blog. Yes, these knobs can make you instantly feel very little. Maybe that was the idea.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. House 33 – personal favorite 😂❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, RayNot, it’s yours! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha 👋😛 perfect #illtakeit 😂😬

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Joanne Sisco says:

    I think I would have started hyperventilating seeing all those wonderful doors in one place! Wowsie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, Joanne, there is an amazing pull to this place. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. scooj says:

    Aah, beloved Siena. My favourite city. Contradas, steps, squares and ricciarelli. Oh and doors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, Scooj, I must say it’s possibly my favourite too so far. And ricciarellis are my amore’s favourite biscuits. 🙂 Just not interested in seeing the Palio. You can see why at the end of this post:

      https://manjameximovie.wordpress.com/2016/11/01/siena-statues/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. scooj says:

        I saw it when I was a boy in the ’70s. It is raw, savage and dangerous. I’m not sure how I would view it now.

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

