WPC: Eva and Adam nescent

I don’t like words that I don’t know how to pronounce and don’t know what they mean. “Fleeting” makes more sense.

Until I learn them, that is. So thank you for the lesson. Still, I had to break it down: into “Eva” (and Adam) and “nescent”. I like the definition of the latter: “just coming into existence and beginning to display signs of future potential.”

Here is a case of “past potential”, if only I had a camera. That is, here is the beginning of the poem about two snakes I encountered. We can call them Eva and Adam.

It can only be called a poem since it has been broken down in verse, to annoy those who say they don’t like poetry. To read it in full, you’ll have to click “read more” below and be transported to my new blog.

Last week I saw more snakes than in all four years before.

Three: first the couple and then one more, closer to home.

Dark, almost black they were.

 

From my spot on the station that I occupy daily

give or take

I notice them frolic in the tall grass in the sun

between the rails and the first house.

(READ MORE)

The moment described was fleeting indeed, with nobody to witness it and nothing to capture it with, except my mind. The photos are from the same location at other times.

Just add snakes.

Nothing as fleeting as something that didn’t get to be.

If you think of it, all our posts are pretty fleeting, or to use the new word I’ve learned, evanescent (isn’t that a band?). Here one day, as if gone tomorrow.

So come over there and make the snakes feel less “eva” and more “nescent” before they slither away. I’m pretty sure they are harmless.

Photo: © signature mmm

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Evanescent

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I pass on making the snakes feel welcome

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hm, Dan, pass on or pass out? Hihi. I must say they were not scary even though I’m not a fan. But did you read the poem in full? I know you’re not a fan. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dan Antion says:

        I did, but I tried not to form mental images as I read.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes it is good not to have a camera with you. Making pictures with words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rambler, for what appears to be your first comment on my blog. I’m sure that without my camera I’d be writing much more. It’s lazyfying. On the other hand, it’s easy on the eyes 🙂 It might be a good exercise to leave the camera behind on purpose now and then.

      Like

  3. Not a fan of snake either… but ok for evanescent

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 Then it’s better that I didn’t have my camera, Mamie…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t know why, but your new blog never shows up in my reader……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, that’s not good news. But instead of the snakes poem (from four days ago) I have not posted anything in some two weeks or more. I checked: you are among my followers. I don’t know the reason. :p

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, maybe it’s because you haven’t posted 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not *instead, I meant *beside.

        Like

Talk to me

