Ex-cat-ibur

We’ve been here before but we had to return for the Sword.

For me, the Abbey of San Galgano is easily the most impressive monument of Italy so far. The pull is strong and it takes me back to certain paintings and old photographs, probably off postcards. It’s as if I was there yet, and it was hazy and hot. Who knows in what epoch that was, maybe in the times when a certain sword got stuck in the stone.

When we visited Monticiano three years ago, I was not yet as prepared as I am now. The name of San Galgano meant nothing to me, but we kept seeing the markers and said, okay, why not. What awaited us was a huge skeleton of a building without a roof which you can enter for 2 EUR (for dogs is free) and then stroll around aghast.

I posted many photos from there on my first blog but I just might repost some here one day soon. Only when we returned home I read about the sword in stone, kept in the church on the hill above the Abbey. We saw the church but proclaimed ourselves too tired to climb the (very gentle) slope.

That’s why we returned about two weeks ago, and this time we only had eyes for the church on the hill. This is how it went.

Photo: © signature mmm

12 Comments Add yours

  1. joey says:

    Well it’s not every day I tour such a remarkable building — with such reserved and handsome hosts, too, I must say.
    I’m glad your mom reminded you to look up — the ceiling!!!
    Free for dogs gave me a chuckle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to give you a tour, Joey! Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Not only is this place MAGNIFICENT!!!, but they have cats! They get HUGE bonus points for the cats.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 I’m glad you approve, Joanne. Which reminds me: In Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, there is a cat caffe with LOTS of cats. Haven’t been yet but if you come over, I’ll take you. 😉

      Like

      1. Joanne Sisco says:

        Deal!!!

        I’m trying to talk my husband into taking a trip this fall to celebrate his 60th birthday. So far he has rejected both Slovenia and Italy. It’s not looking good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahha, not looking good indeed… Too European for him? 😉

        Like

      3. Joanne Sisco says:

        hahaha! No, I think he just doesn’t really want to go anywhere so he’s putting up obstacles 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 3rdofthe3rd says:

    WOW!!!! these pictures are beyond amazing. I think I have another place to put on my bucket list. Thank you for sharing these pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your enthusiasm and follow. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. fkasara says:

    (Finally I can comment, busy days 😛 ) Love-love-love this post, I’ve been dying to see San Galgano basically since forever 😍 I didn’t know La Rotonda was a cat sanctuary, though LOL

    That ceiling is ipnotic 😵❤ And the glass protection was put, because of vandalism *sigh* At the time you could actually extract the sword from the stone but at a certain point a priest (I think) had to seal the cleft because people were constantly trying to steal or damage it…they even broke it once 😑 The outstanding thing, though, is that the cleft was actually made by the sword that cut the stone like butter 😱 It’s still a mistery how that was possible!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I didn’t know it was called La Rotonda, thank you, Sara! I’m sure you will see it one day. I didn’t know people could extract the sword! 😮 I thought it was the whole purpose: the sword is stuck and only a hero could pull it out. Glad you put that straight. I guess we will never know the answer to all the mysteries, unless Tom Hanks makes another movie. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fkasara says:

        At least that’s what I have heard some time ago! They could pull it out back in the days, but there’s not scientific explanation on how it was possible for the sword to cut the stone that way! And LOL, yes, Tom Hanks is our only hope 😂😂😂👍

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

