Eyes of a church

Monday windows from three churches I’ve visited recently – one in Siena and two in Rome.

Here are two windows from each church: the first two from the Basilica of Saint Paul Outside the Walls, the middle two from the Basilica of Santa Maria in Trastevere, both in Rome, and the last colourful two from the Siena Cathedral.

Photo: © signature mmm

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Susanne says:

    Maybe its just these churches or maybe the lighting, but I’ve never noticed before how church architecture and embellishment manage to be both somber and glorious at the same time. Gorgeous photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It might be Italy, or at least Italy opened my eyes for it. I was never a church-hopper although I saw my share of them in France when much younger, but never felt quite what I feel in Italy. Also, I’m an utter atheist. They did a great job.

      Like

  2. joey says:

    Beautiful. I second Susanne’s comment on the lighting — moody, but amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joey. I can’t even imagine the workmanship, know-how, the idea. Can you picture a meeting where construction was discussed?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        Lol, no I cannot! I don’t have that kind of brain!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. JT Twissel says:

    Wonderful – what an “eye” you have 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jan. 🙂

      Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I love the window in the vaulted ceiling. It blends in so well, and its light seems so natural to that area. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan! You mean the first photo, right? I can’t imagine how they came up with all this.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dan Antion says:

        Yes, the photo at the top.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow. If I get back to Italy I may check back for a revised tour plan!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Jeanette, please do! My blog is here for this reason. 🙂 As I say in my last post: I wish everybody could get a dose of Italy when needed.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

