WPC: Fok-us

“Fok” is something I might say when my super auto point-and-shoot decides to focus on something else than I would. Still, it makes for interesting pairings.

I’m quacking from the heat as I’m touristing around new locations with my visitor and my dog who has seen it all and yet gives me the “ARE YOU FOR REAL” look when he sees that another expedition is before us. Today we tried to swim off the rocks among sea-urchins. He only got his paws wet. 

But these photos are from other days, from the occasions when my camera played its smart card. At the beginning I was a slave to its focus, but since I have learnt to trick it into doing it how I want it. Mostly always.

This time I especially recommend clicking on the first photo and viewing the gallery horizontally.

Photo: © signature mmm

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Focus

13 Comments Add yours

  1. dweezer19 says:

    I do this a lot when there are multiple wondrous things to choose between.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, Dweezer, lucky us when we can choose. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. dweezer19 says:

        Lucky indeed! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. These are always fun to do.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. freebutfun says:

    Good illustration of how the focus matters!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Free! 🙂

      Like

  3. joey says:

    Very nice. I’m lucky if I get anything good in the shot at all 😉
    For the record, I’ll always choose the oleander and the ‘alien droppings’ lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, Joey, I’ll remember it. 😀 Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this. Examining the pairs and comparing I marvel at how completely they point the viewer to different feelings or paths of thought despite being of the same scene. Literally what you focus on and what you ignore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Claudia. It’s how our eye works too, right? Choosing among everything around us what to keep and what do forget, what is pretty or happening and what is just ordinary.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. But we don’t notice it as we do in your photos, usually. That’s what struck me, how it is like, you are focused on something very small and suddenly you see the big picture, or vice versa. Your pairs of photos are illustrating thought, I think. Really made me think. Plus just enjoying the photos for themselves!

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

