A trip example that wasn’t

A few days ago we went to see the castle. What we found was something completely different.

Here is an example of how sometimes you don’t get exactly what you expected. Here is a photo of the lovely Castello del Boccale just before Livorno, seen on Facebook (the first photo in a large folder with castles and fortresses where I often get trip ideas) and borrowed from Trip Advisor with thanks:

How very lovely, right? No matter that it should take us almost two hours, we decided to visit it, on a blistering hot day. When we were close enough to view it from the distance, it was not nearly as striking. Parked cars lined the road. It was hot. We found a free spot and parked and as soon as we exited the car, the heat from the tarmac hit us. I can only imagine how the dog must have cursed. We rushed to find some shade and see what could be done. The castle was surrounded by a high wall and the gate that was opened at first soon closed.

This is what my friend managed to snap over the wall after my camera completely ignored it. I don’t want any castle that doesn’t want me.

Photo: NS

Lesson: maybe, sometimes, it’s good to read a bit online first about the place you intend to visit. If I did it I could learn that this was a private residence and unavailable for visits.

It was so hot. Just behind the wall, where the sea could be viewed, we spotted an incline and soon some steps began. You can see below where they led to. Worth the trip, sea urchins and all. The water was heavenly, if not exactly warm. I still feel refreshed just looking at it. Managing the dog on the rocks was not exactly easy, that’s why we didn’t stop for long. He also refused to swim with us once he stepped in the shallow water. Too cold for his taste.

Our trip continued but nothing could replace the castle better than this natural swimming pool below it.

Photo: © signature mmm (except first two)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. lifelessons says:

    Hope you took a dip in that turquoise water.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, Judy, as I say above, I did, in the shallow part. It was freeeeesh. Bestia didn’t wish to follow though.

      Like

  2. JT Twissel says:

    What a beautiful spot. I like that eyeball in the wall.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jan. 🙂 I was happy to find it.

      Like

  3. Expectation you took a dunk in that turquoise water…

    Like

    1. I did, it says so above.

      Like

Talk to me

