WPC: Transient state of love and trust

I thought of celebrating the birthday of my country of origin by giving you some of its capital’s street art since it might not be here any more when you arrive.

While the man who sings the song in the title, Eddie Vedder, is about to hit the stage in Florence and I am not there, Slovenia celebrates its birthday. It was 26 years ago (where did they go?) since it proclaimed independence from Yugoslavia, for which it had to win the 10-day war.

In the meantime it has grown into a beauty and now everybody wants some. Soon it will start charging big bucks, therefore visit while it’s still fresh and (relatively) free.

The capital, Ljubljana, is turning as much into a hamburger heaven as a foodie’s paradise. Piran, the pearl on the Adriatic coast, has recently been featured both by Financial Times and The Wall Street JournalSplendid, for sure, and yet parking there is already a mess, not to mention its two overcrowded hotels. How will the throngs manage?

For you are all coming, you just don’t know it yet.

When you arrive, the Ljubljana street art featured below might well not be there any more. Its transient nature is one of its most striking features. Here’s to hope that love and trust in this state, on the other hand, are here to stay.

(I apologise for not giving the names of the artists. Much too clueless for that.)

Photo: © signature mmm

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: Transient

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Pretty elaborate street art

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan, this it is.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a few street art photographs from my first trip to Slovenia.
    It is a beautiful country and I am mesmerized with the natural beauty.
    It would be sad if those ancient walls become destroyed with cartoons!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Elaine, you were in Slovenia more than once? Lovely. Well, for sure all walls are not suitable for street art but I always love seeing it around, especially if it’s well made.

      Like

      1. Yes, I am a a Slovenian from Minnesota and from the first Slovenian community in America.
        I have been in the old country 5 times and planning another trip soon.
        I have not been there in spring.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ohh, great to learn about this! So I could say something in Slovenian to you as well, for example Lahko noč, since it’s my bedtime. 🙂 And spring is the loveliest!

        Like

  3. misselenka says:

    I will be in Slovenia in September! Looking forward to the visit! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great to hear, Elenka! I will have gone back to Italy by then though… A few days or more than a week? Just Ljubljana or all over? In any case, have a great time and remember “kdor ne skače, ni Slovenc” – whoever doesn’t jump, is not a Slovenian. 😀 Slovenian cheering chant! 😉

      Like

      1. Elena says:

        I will go to Koper to conference! By the way, any tips how to get there? 😯

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh really! When? Probably the best way is to land at Trieste airport and take a transfer, such as GoOpti. The sooner you book them, the better the price.

        Like

  4. joey says:

    I love the way you say we’re going and we don’t know it yet. One never can tell.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joey. Some under-your-skin marketing. If Hollywood can do it, I can do it too. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lexklein says:

    I’ll have to see if these are still there in September … yes, I am returning to Slovenia and my little fave, Ljubljana, this time with my husband in tow! Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! Happy for you and your husband. As it is, I’ll be back to Italy by then… My time in Slovenia will be mid-July to mid-August. I suggest you climb the Skyscraper for the view off the terrace. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

