Thursday Doors, July 6 2017

This is how Siena, The Door Queen, feels like from the inside.

I might have posted some of these doors before, but not these photos. These were taken in this order in a couple of hours the last time I was there, with my sister in April.

And now it’s July and as I passed dried up peach trees earlier, I was thinking that this is desertfuckingcation. And Californication must be what my parents are having in Piran, Slovenia – wicked dense growth like never before.

So Slovenia is becoming Tuscany, Tuscany is becoming a desert, as for the deserts – nobody wants to know.

A month has passed since the last time I complained that there was no rain and everything was yellow, and in the meantime there has been only enough rain to leave our car dirty with sand residue.

Have a stroll around Siena, before the summer crowds and heat rushed in.

Photo: © signature mmm

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

33 Comments Add yours

  1. As usual, a great gallery. The doors hiding behind the immense pots much not be used much or else they don’t want anyone to find them easily! 🙂 Hope you get rain soon. We just got a bit last night and it was very welcome.

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Janet! Yes, those were immense pots. The photo makes the door seem miniature but was normal if not quite big.

      Like

  2. Susi Lovell says:

    Love the pasta mia photo! All of them in fact! We’ve finally had a couple of days without rain – weird (scary) how the world’s weather is changing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, yes, Susi, exactly the opposite and scary just as much for early July. We can hope it normalises. And thank you!

      Like

  3. joey says:

    Fab doors, of course! Featured door has composition pride, but they’re all great.
    Love Qui si parla! No phones at the table is a well-established rule here, and yet, at brunch, I had to tell visiting child… Ugh. Table full of people and food in front of you, what the heck could be better?!?
    Also, I kinda laughed at the hidden door behind the planters. I would totally do something like that. “Oh the plants are guarding the door, Joey must not be available.” Hehehehee!
    Course, I struggle to turn the pots that size, I can’t imagine what I’d rupture if I did it daily!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hihih, thanks, Joey! You need a plant guarding your door! Two in one! I suffer physically every time people in my company go on the phone. I hate my phone and most of all others. Well, sometimes they are useful.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ianbcross says:

    Magnificent doors

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Ian! 🙂

      Like

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Another wonderful collection. I’d have to check my archives but I think I captured the one beside Pasta Mia when I was there in 2013. In any case I obviously needed to spend more time there because missed so many beautiful doors.
    Hope you get some rain there soon. As Susi said with us it has been the opposite since spring, now we’re finally getting some sun 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Norm. Ohh, the dark brown one? Do you remember the Pasta Mia? Or the fact that the brown door is of a B&B? As I see it, either you miss most of the doors or all you do is take photos of doors. 😀 Enjoy your sun. Doors look lovely in the sun. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Norm 2.0 says:

        You’re right, either we capture them all and move along at 50 meters an hour or miss them all to concentrate on something else.
        I don’t specifically remember the Pasta Mia but the dark brown door just looks so familiar. I didn’t find it in my archives though, so maybe I just wish I had seen it 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Well, if they’re repeats, count me among the folks who were happy to see them again. I love the one with the steep pitched arches. They are all beautiful and they represent such great craftsmanship.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Dan. Only a few are repeats, but the truth is that I didn’t look back to determine how many I’ve posted already. They are eye candy in any way. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jesh stg says:

    Oh, Siena – I wanted to go there – even only for the fact that one of my fave painting colors is “Raw Siena!”
    My favorite this week is the dark brown door below the Pasta Mia restaurant – it’s sooo symetrical!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Jesh. As Norm says, this door is actually next to Pasta Mia. 🙂 You can see it in the previous photo too, just to the right. Siena is indeed a lovely colour.

      Like

      1. jesh stg says:

        Thank you too!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a lovely collection, Manja. I am now ITCHING to go to Siena. I know you’re surprised by that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Liz. We will go. 😉 Siena is compact and ancient and out of this world.

      Like

  9. dweezer19 says:

    Love them all but that Pasta Mia door is very enticing…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Cheryl. 🙂 Mmmm alle vongole!

      Like

  10. I’ll scroll through your reruns any day! Especially if we can stop for pasta along the way. 🙂
    Beautiful selection of doors as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Deborah. Might stop the next time. 🙂 If I find it again! Siena is not so big but one can still wander.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Gorgeous. Love them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Donna! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne Sisco says:

    You always have an interesting selection of doors.Sorry to hear that the weather continues to be unbearably hot and dry. It seems that crazy weather everywhere has become the norm 😦

    The door I found most intriguing was the door hidden behind the curtain, behind the large wood panels, which appear to be an exterior door. A door of mystery and a promise of coolness inside 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joanne. Oh yes, I think that’s why I was drawn to it. And the stylishness, of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. dennyho says:

    Your first door is my favorite…and the pasta place, making me hungry…

    Like

  14. jazzytower says:

    Some awesome doors here. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jazzy! 🙂

      Like

  15. Have to visit Siena one day! For now, it’s baby time 🙂 Did a little baby poem on my blog 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ❤ Baby poem is glorious. Will be time for the blog and for Siena, it's not going anywhere. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Oh thank you!!! I LOVE old doors. I take lots of pictures of them myself. They just dont make them like they used to these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome. I’m glad I found your blog, now I only need to figure out how to follow. I have just posted another Thursday Doors regular. Welcome to join us!

      Like

Talk to me

