Things I’d never believe

As I go through life, I encounter many instances of “I’d never believe if somebody told me”.

I might feel that I can see the future and read the signs all I want, but I’d never wish to know how it ends. Life would be unbearable without surprises.

Regarding seeing the future, I have a big dilemma from my card-playing days. Sometimes during a game I could feel with utmost certainty that I was about to lose. Now you tell me: did I lose just because I’d psyched myself into losing and there was a way to win, or would I lose no matter what I did?

More often I knew I’d win though.

Here is some of the most unlikely stuff that has come true even though I never saw it coming. What would I think if somebody told me that:

  • In 1991 there will be a 10-day war for the independence of Slovenia and Yugoslavia will disintegrate. Elsewhere this will cause a bloodshed.
  • A useful type of gravel for highway-building will be discovered under a pretty useless wooded area that my father inherited, just when a highway will be built nearby. As a result, my parents will build a house in Piran on the Slovenian coast. My longtime dream. No arm-bending required.
  • However, I will live in Tuscany, Italy, of all places, about seven hours away. Summers will make it feel almost like Africa.
  • We will find our first dog in the trash with his brothers and raise three.
  • NATO will bomb Serbia. After losing a stealth they will argue: “We do deserts, we don’t do mountains.” During this event, Serbian TV will block all content from NATO countries except the film “Wag the Dog”, in which a war is invented to divert attention, and play it nightly.
  • A funicular will be built up to Ljubljana Castle, the whole one-minute ride of it.
  • There will be nine years of primary school instead of eight, what we used to have. So sorry, kids. 😦
  • There will be something called the Internet where I’ll spend most of my time because they’ve got everything. Even amore.
  • I won’t need to wait ages, if not endlessly, to see a film, hear an album or read a book I’m really curious about.
  • There will be a supergroup “Prophets of Rage”, made up with members of “Rage Against the Machine”, “Public Enemy” and “Cypress Hill”. They will have a concert in Zagreb, Croatia, and the opening act will be “House of Pain”. Everlast will join the Prophets for “Jump Around”, the last song of the night.
  • The 12-year-old son of the “Suicidal Tendencies” and now “Metallica” bassist will tour with “KoЯn” as a replacement bassist.
  • So many other people will stare into their phones most of their time. Even with me right there.
  • With phones and other gadgets they will manage to subdue and harness people into obedience, consumption and inactivity.
  • “What Orwell failed to predict is that we’d buy the cameras ourselves, and that our biggest fear would be that nobody was watching.” —Keith Lowell Jensen
  • The USA (and with it Hollywood) will stupidify and deteriorate to such a degree that their president will be the joke of the world. His Slovenia-born wife will file for divorce and achieve what nobody else did – bring him down. (Oooops, spoiler. Waitaminute, that was Berlusconi.)
  • I’ll be waving into my webcam even when it’s off, half expecting a helicopter.
  • I still won’t know at 47 how to reconcile creativeness, productiveness and profitability.

Photo: © signature mmm

19 Comments Add yours

  1. dweezer19 says:

    Wonderful list. The third to last tops mine. Daily I am assaulted mentally by things I never thought I’d see happen, happen, from the way people (don’t) raise their children to simple human decency. But a fun one-I never would have thought I would live in Costa Rica twice! (Wish I was still there.😞) The dog story is such a miracle. And so pretty.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Cheryl. Life is surely entertaining. Imagine knowing everything in advance! But I have a feeling that even if we knew about half of the bad things that are coming, we wouldn’t change a thing, such is human animal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. dweezer19 says:

        True or at least we would think we could change or fix it somehow. Ever the control freaks that we are. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    As many depressing things there are to add to my list there would be lots of ones to marvel over and be optimistic about to.
    By the way I love your Dad’s light fixture – that is so cool!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Norm. You can always nick the idea. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a great list. Common knowledge yet personal in a good mix. Reminds me that things effect other people. Sometimes we forget.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. 🙂 Oh yes, no mistake there, everything ripples.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. This is an amazing post. Very humbling, very sad, very funny, very quirky. All in one. “I’ll be waving into my webcam even when it’s off, half expecting a helicopter” – HA! Love the photos you selected too, the beach at dusk, and is that Bestia in your Tuscany photo?? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, Liz, this is Bestia’s famous profile. I will never forget how you met him tied outside while I was in the facilities. 😀 Thank you for your kind words. I always half expect Tom Cruise, specifically. I have plenty to tell him.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. scooj says:

    Great post, and insight into why your posts come from Italy and Slovenia, your dogs, your musical tastes and love of the Interweb.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, scooj. I like to give good insight. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    Your post is a reminder that every day we are witness to wonders. Most of the time we don’t realize it until years later.

    Don’t worry about being 47 and still not knowing how to reconcile creativeness, productiveness and profitability. I doubt many of us ever do. Just don’t ever lose the creativity – that’s a precious gift 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joanne. Working on it. Truth is, others are probably more worried than me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. awtytravels says:

    ….Juventus will be stripped of two Scudetti and relegated in B for rigging matches.

    Aaaaaah, those were the days!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Fabrizio, I had to google it, I thought it might have just happened. I’m a bit far from Turin. 😀 I see it was 10 years ago. I have a feeling all calcio is still absolutely rigged.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. joey says:

    You never know what’s around the corner, but you can be sure it’s both a bit of good and bad.
    I love the last bit “I still won’t know at 47 how to reconcile creativeness, productiveness and profitability.” *nods*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joey. Good and bad, up and down… I try to make the “good” and the “up” at least 60%, if 100% is not feasible. Work in progress. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. fkasara says:

    I loved this post ❤ And those bottles!! What a great idea!!!

    "However, I will live in Tuscany, Italy, of all places, about seven hours away. Summers will make it feel almost like Africa."
    Ah! Actually an African guy once said to me that Africa is not as hot as Italy! LOL. I guess dampness is our doom.

    "With phones and other gadgets they will manage to subdue and harness people into obedience, consumption and inactivity.
    What Orwell failed to predict is that we’d buy the cameras ourselves, and that our biggest fear would be that nobody was watching.” —Keith Lowell Jensen"
    * Sigh * how sad is that!? (and how stupid are we?)

    I would also add: "People will stay in a row for hours, even at night, to enter a shop between two rows of clapping clerks to buy a bloody cell phone"

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sara! Father will be happy to see you like the bottles. 🙂

      Hehe, yes, we are pretty malleable. Luckily, I have only read about your example, I stay away from anything like that. As for the heat, humidity indeed makes it worse, but lately there is not even enough moistness for mosquitoes around here.

      Like

Talk to me

