CFFC: Rome’s Non-Catholic Cemetery

Cee calls and I deliver: twenty images from the Non-Catholic Cemetery in Rome, a surprisingly cheerful spot, for her Fun Foto Challenge.

Not just due to all the flowers. It was April after all. And I know Cee loves flowers too, especially bearded iris, that’s why there are some in all of these photos, or at least greenery.

At least two of these graves display well-known names. (Clues: Perc-Bys-Shell and J. Ke__s) More about that in a post to come, I’ve got LOTS of photos from there left. All in all, an absolute must-visit.

Photo: © signature mmm

For:

CFFC

22 Comments Add yours

  1. fkasara says:

    Amazing 😍❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sara. I hope you’ve got some rain there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fkasara says:

        Oh God, you’ve not idea…a couple of week of insane heat, then it started to rain and we got hit by a whirlwind * sigh *

        Like

      2. It can’t be just some easy rain, can it? :p

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Such a nice gallery of photos for this week. Thanks for playing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Cee! Always a pleasure. 🙂

      Like

  3. joey says:

    It’s beautiful, and I am awed by the fancy fringed tulip! ❤ Tulips are my FAVORITE!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Joey, I’m so glad I chose this one to feature. It seems magnificent to me too. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Wow – those are some fancy headstones!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan, indeed. I’m saving some more and some interesting inscriptions for another post.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jan! 🙂

      Like

  5. So wonderful to see these while in Spring bloom! I loved it there, would like to go back and explore again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Liz. I’d be very happy to return there in spring with you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love cemeteries. I believe they are the most peaceful places. A sense of completeness. I read Axel Munthe’s book and loved it. In my world, we have Laurel Hill Cemetery full of elaborate monuments-this place reminded me of it. The serenity of your photos and the life in them. Just what I needed today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Claudia, I’m so glad. But not all cemeteries are alike. In Italy, Catholic or not, cemeteries are alive even in death.

      Like

      1. The newer ones here, not so much. Kind of like, let’s take care of the dead but not think about it much. The older ones here, well, a whole different story. Maybe it just takes time, but I also think it requires allowing interesting monuments (vs. plaques lying on the ground) and…not arranging the place in regimented rows stretching into the distance. In the hot sun. So the lawnmower can get around easily. Somehow that is just too much for me!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. dweezer19 says:

    I love the wisteria.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl, it’s quite the winner.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. dweezer19 says:

        I wish I had some wisteria on my property. It attracts beautiful bees!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. jesh stg says:

    Hello Manji – am not sure why you linked to me? I do love flowers though:):)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Jesh, I’m glad you do but I’m quite certain I didn’t link to you but rather to Cee. 🙂

      Like

Talk to me

