Films to feel and fill me

Every three months, or two, or four, I let you in on which films I have seen in the meantime.

Since I’m currently sleeping in a bedroom with a huge TV on the wall, I have, not surprisingly and gladly, changed my little laptop monitor with that baby for film-viewing purposes. With it comes watching television programs, which I haven’t done for about a decade. What a pile of junk!

And yet, if you grew up on a couple of films on the weekends, and an arty one on TV Slovenia 1 on Wednesdays, the current choice of several films at the same time at all times is rather overwhelming. I’m doing my best to do other stuff too, not only watch films. Also, I’m doing my best to see films from start to finish but sometimes I miss a part. Most of them I watched back home before my visit, though.

I’ve noticed that I’m not as easily overwhelmed any more, the burn-out is starting. So be it. When I start rolling my eyes more than giggling, sighing and clapping, I’ll just stop watching films for ten years again. Be as it may, none of these films floored me enough to deserve the grade pure 5. I’m still generous, though, so that none gets less than 3, with 3.5 being the minimum for some kind of joy.

One thing happens after watching a biography: I get upset if I read that some of the content has been fabricated or altered. I want the truth, damn it. I’ve said to myself not to read more about a film after it ends, but I never do what anybody says, including me. It’s one thing to tell the story in an unbalanced way, from one side only, and quite another to change simple facts, such as was it his wife or his lover visiting him on his deathbed. If it was the lover, why say it was the wife??? (The Diving Bell and the Butterfly)

Here are my last three months in films then, each with a sentence or two, rated and roughly divided into groups of similar enjoyment (cinematically speaking, subject matter may be far from enjoyable). The first in every group gave me the least satisfaction, and the last pleased me the most.

And when I return home tomorrow after my record 6-week holidays, not only will I be greeted by improved home and happy amore but also by another big screen TV that my family let him drive away and put on our wall, all ready to be connected to my laptop. From one home, sweet home to another. Some girls have all the luck.

I’m always grateful for recommendations. Tell me what to watch based on which I liked. Thank you!

Out of contest:

  • El club (The Club): A weird, sad state-of-the-church address from Chile. As terrible as it needs to be to make a point.
  • Walter brani Sarajevo (Walter Defends Sarajevo): A Yugoslav classic from happy times about the town under the first siege. “Do you see this town? This is Walter!”
  • Čefurji raus: Yugoslavia residue residing in Slovenia now. How they get along with us and why not.

3:

  • Empire Records: This one didn’t age well, despite that splash of “Suicidal Tendencies”. She has three kids now.
  • Mine: Only watched it because my dad requested it. Surprised at some candid scenes, but still too American.
  • The Duke of Burgundy: An all-female film in all the senses. Why? Did they eat all the men? Are they crazy?

3.5:

  • Superman: Man of Steel: For some reason I thought I should see this one. Wasn’t so urgent. Neither very graphic not very novelly.
  • The Fifth Estate: I’m very surprised at this production and the leading role. Talking about putting an ass in Assange.
  • Far From the Madding Crowd (2015): Ah ah ah, too purty and forgettable despite good intent.
  • Identity: One of the messy ones. The cast brings it up a notch. After all, there is Mr. Cusack.
  • T2 Trainspotting: What can I say? Doesn’t really take off. The first one was too hard to follow. It ought to take place in the cemetery.
  • Jobs: I know, I should watch Steve Jobs. Still, one gets the idea. They fucked him up and he learned how to do it back.
  • Up: I watched this cartoon synchronised on a German channel. Not such a bad balloon ride with some love for the aged, finally.
  • This Beautiful Fantastic: How can something so literary with such a promising title end up so jaded? Still liked the colours and some bits, such as the leading actress.

4:

  • Loose Change Final Cut: I include this one here for the effort and bravery. Whatever your opinion, its mere existence is a proof of some sort.
  • Venus in Fur: Hehe, I caught this one on some crazy channel. The director is not so popular. I love the actors, as for the subject matter, see it for yourselves.
  • Seven Psychopaths: Goofy but endearingly so. Never heard of it before.
  • Burnt: One of the three flavours of the decade in this one and yet I never remember his name. He can act, though, and speak French. Don’t know about the cooking.
  • Somewhere: Saw this one in German as well. The kid is cool. Mr. Dorff is not bad either. They – with Ms. Coppola at the wheel – have created something. A portrait of neither you nor me.
  • I Am Jane Doe: One of the films that make you immensely sad. Such shit is going on in the world and not many do a thing about it.
  • Liberation Day: Saw this “documentary musical” in Piran’s Cinema under the Stars. The first western band ever to play North Korea. They are Slovenians. Be warned.
  • Greetings from Tim Buckley: I was surprised to learn this was not a documentary. The leading actor should take good care of himself. Plenty of undertones.
  • Hitchcock: A biopic with perhaps not that much depth but a nice thumps-up to the woman behind the man, played by splendid Ms. Mirren.
  • The Handmaid’s Tale: A bit of an oldie with a very adult Ms. Richardson who sounds like she should run the planet. Some hilarious casting. Still holds water.
  • The Edge of Seventeen: A sane film about teenagers. They will profit from it, I’m certain.
  • Pride: A nicely rounded, happy-making, as-it-happened story from the times when Welsh miners came to walk in the Parade.

4.5:

  • In the Land of Blood and Honey: Huuu, watched it just earlier. It’s Ms. Jolie directing Sarajevo war. Don’t fall for bad ratings. Don’t try to understand, just believe that even worse things happened.
  • A Most Violent Year: A never before heard-of slice in time. You know this is just how it goes when you want to have.
  • 3:10 to Yuma: A new take on the old theme. Except for the faces it could be one of the old ones. Plenty of talent here.
  • Children of Men: Just saw that it tops the 40 sci-fi films of 21 Century. I don’t know… all that shooting in the end diminishes it for me. I prefer #2, but especially #3 and #4.
  • The Sea Inside: Mr. Bardem is a-dying smilingly because he asked for it.
  • Zodiac: Despite or because of Mr. Gyllenhaal, the search for the killer doesn’t get yawny. Others help too.
  • Spring Breakers: Well now. Mr. Korine behind the wheel is taking care of us in a variety of ways. See if you can stomach it.
  • Everybody Wants Some!!: This is growing up Mr. Linklater-style. Tame compared to the one above but revealing. Especially for non-Americans.
  • The Fault in Our Stars: Whole lot of dying and disappointments but also love, hormones and laughter.
  • An Education: She – Ms. Mulligan – is timeless, great things in store and all that. Her smile will not leave you. Mr. Sarsgaard is to blame. The story falls on its nose a bit but nobody notices.
  • The Lure (Córki dancingu): A mermaid horror musical from Poland. Whole lot of symbolism, youth and fun on the set laced with a deep Slav sadness.
  • The Soloist: A different kind of sadness. He could be all that. I wish to see Mr. Iron Man in more roles like this one. As for Mr. Foxx, there is a deep-felt, skillful affinity with what he portrays.
  • The Sense of an Ending: I loved Mr. Barnes’ book way back when I was still reading. With this film I read it again three-dimensionally. I’m happy – it was just how I remember it.
  • Idiocracy: Ba-ha-ha. I wished to dismiss this one as just another silly comedy but it wouldn’t go away. Watch it and cry.
  • Okja: What happened with this film? Why don’t I see little and huge cute Okja pigs all over the media, shops and streets? Ah, right… too much on the money? Sadness you can cut.
  • Blind (2014): Norway – messy 12 points to you for this. Things you always wondered about the blind. See it with wide-opened eyes while you can.
  • I Origins: A weird little film about the eye with at least one VERY memorable scene. Mr. Michael Pitt is not far behind on the forget-me-not scale.
  • Le Scaphandre et le Papillon (The Diving Bell and the Butterfly): This really happened: the man could only move one eye and still he wrote a novel with it. This film is useful for making you want to read it. (Even though it lies too, as I said above.)
  • The Botany of Desire: The documentary about the apple, the tulip, the marijuana and the potato. Mr. Pollan wrote the book first. Plenty to learn here, not just why the buds are so luscious.
  • Blue Valentine: For some reason, this one hits the most chords. Because it’s so much like life, just not as linear. Towards the end Mr. Gosling crosses into overacting (but Ms. Williams doesn’t), that’s why it doesn’t get a 5. Plus the dog dies first thing. Bestia is saying: terrible.

Photo: © signature mmm

19 Comments Add yours

  1. maksi2016 says:

    Manja Defends Movies, bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😉 Thanks. Or defend myself for watching them…

      Like

  2. JT Twissel says:

    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is one of my favorite movies. Haven’t heard of a lot of these movies. One of my favorite movies is Tender Mercies. It’s not a big blockbuster – just a small movie but memorable

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jan. I remember it, Mr. Duvall, right? The Diving Bell and the Butterfly was perfect to me too until I read about everything they have changed from reality. We can just hope their reasons were other than appealing to the public more. :p Did you read his book?

      Like

  3. joey says:

    Loved Up — great film. Liked Far From the Madding Crowd, In the Land of Blood and Honey, and Seven Psychopaths. Some listed, I preferred the books immensely. Like The Handmaid’s Tale. One of my fave books, everrrr.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Joey. I love Ms. Atwood, I’ve read all I could by her. And yet I love this film too, it’s simpatico how the actors went about it. I hear a new series is out. Reading is of course something completely different. You make your own film in your head as you proceed.

      Like

      1. joey says:

        I will watch the series when it’s completed in full.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the reflections in the T.V. screen!

    I’m not much of a movie watcher anymore. Last week I rewatched two oldies but goodies E.T. still cry when I watch it. The other I watched was Ghostbusters- the original. There’s a lot of great quotes in the movie, and music. It’s still among my favs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Deborah. I haven’t seen either in a while but loved them back then. I remember the E.T. ride in Universal Studios as one of the few bright moments of the tour. The Psycho house was the other. But otherwise I was sorely disappointed. Talking about debunking the myth. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Universal Studios! I haven’t been in decades. The San Francisco Earthquake experience was pretty good. I don’t know if that ride/experience is still there, and the Jaws scene was interesting. The movie wasn’t as scary after seeing where and how they made Jaws do what it did. 🙂

        The Psycho house, Leave it to Beaver’s house, and Town Sq for the set of Back to the Future were also highlights of my visit to Universal Studios.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, you’ve seen a lot of films. There were only three I’ve seen lately that I liked: Miss Sloan, Arrival and a French film called Welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sunny Days, I really appreciate this! I loved Arrival, Miss Sloane is on my to-watch list, and I’ll check out Welcome.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Seen Miss Sloane. 🙂 Intense!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hope you liked it. I love movies when smart woman beats a large group of corrupted men lol

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I am enamored with the creative, arty images in this post. Photo contest worthy! Very unusual. I am also surprised by how few movies I have seen on this list. I did see ‘Up’ several years ago which I loved. Enjoy having the new set in your home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa, your praise means a lot! 🙂 I was not even so happy with them, my camera is no good in the dark. I have some other found-TV imagery in my other regular movie posts. As for the films, I try to choose a bit out of the regular. And the new TV rocks!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jolene says:

    Wow, you have been mighty busy!! 🙂
    I am very excited to watch Diving Bell and Butterfly (it’s in my computer, one of those I’ve been meaning to watch) – so glad to have your recommendation.
    I looove Fault in our Stars, so much so that I went to Amsterdam for it. I just blogged about it too! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 I love to hear about this – to go places because of a movie or a book. This is how it ripples, blogging does too. I’ll have a look. If you need more recommendations, see the three links at the end of the post, I have three similar posts already. And thank you, Jolene!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jolene says:

        Thanks, will do!

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

