Thursday Doors, July 7

Since we were in the hood, as it were, strolling around my birth town last month, I just had to capture this set of doors. Sis said she couldn’t believe that I hadn’t done it yet. They are indeed a bit on a special side.

The hood is Old Ljubljana, and when we started seeing sights like the ones above, I remembered there were two doors that I’d wished to photograph for a long time.

When amore was on his first visit and we were in this same hood, he made me enter Ljubljana Cathedral for what might have been the very first time, even though I was passing it every day on my way from high school. The thing is, I didn’t even know that the rather bland looking Church of St. Nicholas was Ljubljana Cathedral. It was not like in Lucca or Orvieto or Siena where these things are clear at a glance.

(Not that I’d given it much thought. For me churches were always something perching on little hills, looking jovial but possibly scary to Turks, and that was that, until I visited France and almost lost my soles in all the churches we visited.)

But in we went, and astonished at its beauty from within I ran a quick survey and I think five Ljubljana natives gave me five different answers as to which church deserves to be called the Ljubljana Cathedral.

From that visit I don’t remember any doors. I think the one we went through might have been covered for maintenance. No matter that I wasn’t taking Thursday Doors photos yet, I’d surely remember these.

If somebody asked me I’d say these doors are as old as can be, even though the guy presiding in the first door looked vaguely familiar. When I checked I learnt that the “president” is indeed Pope John Paul II and that the doors were only build in 1996 for his first visit to Slovenia. The day he came over to bless them was my birthday, ahh. I turned twenty-six: much too much for high school.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

45 Comments Add yours

  1. joey says:

    Amazing. Bronze, wow. Well I have never seen anything like these. I was pretty impressed with the dark cherry doors with the arch and the window and the statues and then these came along and wowed me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Right! 😀 I like your response, Joey, mission accomplished then. I’m quite sure this is the pinnacle of sorts – I don’t think I’ll ever find more history on another door.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, they’re all quite stunning. The middle bronze door is amazing. The story and work are incredible. I can only imagine it must weigh a ton!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Deborah. Quick online search didn’t give me the weight answer. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. doors were so symbolic – amazing art. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, moondustwriter, and for the follow too! 🙂

      Like

  4. I remember studying the various carvings and so on in art history in college, I mean on famous cathedrals. These are so much more interesting to me – I love the modern style they have and yet arranged in the medieval way. I also love the shiny spots where people have opened the doors, or, where maybe there is a special saint or person they are hoping to ask for a favor, and so rub the spot where they are. Fantastic.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Right… you actually have to touch a head to enter in the first case? 😮 Maybe that’s why they prefer you use the other door… Thank you, Claudia!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great selection for Thursday doors this week! Very interesting and only slightly creepy. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Bulldog! 🙂 Yes… slightly.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    I thought I recognized John Paul II
    These are just stunning works of art. I’d stop here. You’ll never find more impressive doors…but of course it could still be lots of fun to keep looking 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hehe, Norm, correct. I’ll leave impressive and just search for quirky, warm, has-been, green, weird and just right, as I tend to do. 🙂 Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. ChinGum says:

    Amazing pictures of these old sculptures. i really like your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, 20 years is not so very long for a door. 🙂 But thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ChinGum says:

        but they those sculptures looks like 100 years old. once again nice post.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. jan says:

    Fantastic! I love the sculptures.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dan Antion says:

    The sculptured doors are amazing. Great collection!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Dan, it’s quite a thing to behold… Also there are a lot of cranes is Slovenia. There was a running joke that children keep drawing the city castle on the hill with a crane since it’s such a fixture. Just saying… I think it’s gone now actually, at least from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dan Antion says:

        You know I would love the cranes 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Super, cette série! Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci, Mamie! 🙂

      Like

  11. joannesisco says:

    Wow – when Slovenia does doors, there’s no fooling around. This is serious workmanship!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, that’s right, Joanne. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Angela! 🙂

      Like

  12. Fantastic artwork on those doors, and you’re right, they do look quite ancient.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jean! Might see it for yourself one day… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Prior-2001 says:

    Wow – I can see why you wanted to capture these for a long time – and glad to see them…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Prior. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. dennyho says:

    Feeling educated! Thanks for the lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 Thank you, dennyho. Do you mean a lesson about growing up in Yugoslavia? About how serious Slovenians are with their doors? Or about Ljubljana being a wicked city well worth visiting?

      Like

  15. Remarkable collection of doors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa! Happy Indian sea to you!

      Like

    1. Yeah, thank you, Helen! And for the follow as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Helen Bushe says:

        Hi. I actually thought I was already following you until the option to FOLLOW came up.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You might be following my first blog which is full now. This is my second. Welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Helen Bushe says:

        Ah! I didn’t know a blog could get full . 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      4. 😀 It does if you don’t pay.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Helen Bushe says:

        Ahh! I pay 1:1 a small amount every 3 months for an unlimited hosting package…..so maybe my blog will get full up too. I’ll keep my eye on this.

        Liked by 1 person

  16. mariannegv says:

    Wow! These doors are very impressive. Have a great week-end.
    Marianne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Marianne! 🙂 I’m glad to see you hopping around.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

