Intimate Sant’Antimo

I have a draft post on my gmail where I save travel ideas all over my relatively immediate neighbourhood from friends, blogs and the Internet in general. The Abbey of Sant’Antimo was one such. You never know when I might be looking, saving and following your footsteps.

As we were returning home from Siena this April, we decided to have a look at the Abbey of Sant’Antimo, since it was in our general direction and since Andrew Seal posted about walking over there for 10 km on thechangingpalette.com. And this, my friends, is how it ripples. With gratitude to Andrew, we didn’t walk but it was still lovely as you can see. Where next? (Click on the first photo to enter the gallery.)

Photo: a © signature mmm production

24 Comments Add yours

    1. Thanks, SMSW, another place to return to and stay longer.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That is so beautiful. Im glad you included thd interior shots.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I’m glad you’ve been enjoying it, Dan! Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew Seal says:

    This is wonderful Manja. Brings back some very happy memories. I think my photos and yours could be superimposed 🙂 So happy you went. Warm wishes…Andrew

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you, Andrew. It is truly a magical place. When you discover another, please say so. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. C’est surtout la grande nature qui m’émeut.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci, Mamie, I only had to check two words in your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Beautiful. I love the photo of the bright blue sky and perfectly puffy white clouds. Those are always winners for me.
    And that door, with the light coming in. Great shot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joey! I used that door photo on a Thursday already, but it was long ago. 🙂 The weirdest thing was that the people coming in through the door spoke my language, the mother to the child. Doesn’t happen often here.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        I can imagine it’s nice to hear that familiar sound 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely and peaceful place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bulldog, indeed it is. 🙂

      Like

  6. I shared this on Twitter…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, lovely, SMSW, I hope your followers enjoy it, and then visit like I had. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ann says:

    Thank you so much for posting the link to your pictures of Sant’Antimo. What a jewel it is! I love the rhythm of Romanesque architecture — and your pictures just make me want to go back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Ann. That’s the most I could hope for. 🙂

      Like

  8. Thank you, Vikas. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.