Maja the Bee

Today I have three anecdotes for you starring the Slovenian designer with whom I used to work. She once called me the best Slovenian editor, so I could be biased, but unlike me she really is the best.
  1. She was on the designing team when Slovenian Euro coins were about to be manufactured. Before her meeting in Finland with all the EU bosses, she and her team prepared the design according to all the numerous rules. When she presented the design, it was established that one rule had not been passed over to the team: the edge of the coin must not include the name of the country. As it is, she fought for her right and their design, and as a result Slovenia is the only country with S*L*O*V*E*N*I*J*A inscribed on the edge of its euros.
  2. She thought of submitting some of her designs to the Post of Slovenia to be made into stamps. That year the subject was Slovenian dishes. She promptly chose to bake a specialty prekmurska gibanica, a dessert with four layers, from the top: one with apples, one with nuts, one with ricotta, and one with poppy seeds. When she was done, she realised that the recipe calls for layers to be doubled, so that there are eight. Without further ado she doubled the layers in Photoshop and sent in the photo as such. Probably there is a stamp with it somewhere out there.
  3. We used to work together for a monthly magazine. We often met in her studio in the centre of Ljubljana and did our work while our dogs played together freely outside her studio where it was nice and green. Once she sneaked a photo of our dogs in an empty space in a crossword puzzle. When we had a major refurbishment of the magazine together with the name change, the editor-in-chief instructed her to be present at the press conference too. She said: “Why? So that I can tell the press I felt like using Times New Roman?”

The last time I saw her, she had a baby bump. We are not in touch and I find myself missing her. Not just because she still owes me one of her bra rings that she had promised.

And since we’re doing anecdotes, one more by another coworker from those times. Her father was serving a regular Yugoslav army time in another republic when she was about to be born. Everybody in his unit knew that the Slovenian was awaiting a child. As it is, the official army language was Serbian. So when the telegram with joyful news finally arrived, a messenger came running with it to her dad informing him: “Hey, Slovenian, you got yourself a son! But what does ‘punčka’ mean?” (Slovenian: “punčka” = “little girl”)

Which again reminds me of Duško Radović, Serbian writer and radio host, and one of his aphorisms: “This morning, someone is joyful: he has found a parking space. Someone else is as sad as he can be: his newborn is a female.”

Here’s to moving on from that mentality, and to all wicked women who I used to know or, even better, are still around. ❤

The gallery includes photos from an exhibition on the shores of the Ljubljanica river this June by Exodos Ljubljana entitled “Bridging the Silence”, Premostimo tišino.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

13 Comments Add yours

  1. afarawayhome says:

    You should drop her an email 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Possibly. Thanks.

      Like

  2. What a great post. You have many varied experiences to draw on and you always do so in such an engaging way. Live long and prosper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Claudia. I intend to. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Maja says:

    It is me, it is me, the great designer :))
    Dear Manja, my ex. I feel like a cat, living it’s 3dt life when reading this.
    What is your ring size, by the way. I am preparing a surprise for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hihihih!! What goes around, comes around! Excellent to see you! Your ex sounds depressing, call me your y! My ring size, like everything about me, is BIG. Best if you deliver it in person. 😀

      Like

  4. Your posts somehow make me feel like Slovenia is very small, in a nice, cosy and homey sort of way, with everyone knowing everyone… I had to look up the population: 2 million. I’m surprised, was sure Finland would’ve been smaller (5 million)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! What a comparison! I’d think there were many more of you. I think you’ve got too much space. In this way you can barely meet each other. 🙂 But you know about cosy and homey – it gets tiresome after a few months, or years.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, it can get boring!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. jan says:

    I agree with the others- try to get in touch. Sounds like a relationship worth trying to keep.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Jan, done that, look at one of the comments above. 😉

      Like

  6. I can only agree…love your post as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She saw it and is already asking me about my ring size. 😉 Thank you!

      Like

Talk to me

