Moves like movies

This post is about recently seen films (after a looooong drought). There is “Movie” in my blog name after all. And the screen is a Monday window too, in a way.

Except for the last ten years or so, I always watched plenty of films. (Here is the list of my favourite films of all times.) Then films got progressively worse, and my life started to gain momentum. I let them go almost completely, as I did to books as well. I chose to leave other people’s stories to other people and live mine.

I have not seen any series either, not since Touch and Once Upon a Time and that one with the 2-minute global premonition… ah… I forgot all about it even though I loved it… oh right. FlashForward. And then I stopped watching TV.

It seems that now the time has come again to have a peek, or several. Below please find film titles that I’ve seen in the last month or so, roughly in the order of enjoyment.

I give a sentence for each, as much a reminder to myself as a chance for you all to agree or not, as the case may be. Sounds like my whole blog.

I separate the first two from the others as it’s not really the same ball game. I’m amazed they even got made. Plus they made me paranoid. *Waves*

  • Snowden: Oliver Stone did it. I didn’t know it while watching. The actor who plays him – famous, forgot the name, ah, Mr. Gordon-Levitt – donated all his earnings.
  • Citizenfour: A documentary by Laura Poitras, one of the journalists who first got in touch with him.

And now those movies that made me grin/reflect/feel worthwhile watching them the most:

  • Houston, We Have a Problem!: Slovenian paradocumentary about how Tito, the President of Yugoslavia, sold its space program to the Americans.
  • Anomalisa: A cartoon for grown-ups who are having a good day. Since this one won’t cheer you up but rather linger in your mind for quite a while.
  • Samsara: I nodded off, woke up, and rewound. It’s not a movie, it’s an experience. And it hurts.
  • Before the Flood: Leonardo DiCaprio in a documentary on climate change. Goes well with the one above. They make it so clear that you really start wondering why the hell doesn’t somebody do something.
  • A Perfect Day: I have never seen the Balkans in a foreign film explained as well before. Plus Mr. Benicio and Mr. Robbins.
  • Straight Outta Compton: Whad up, boyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy? It’s always chilling when the son plays the father.
  • Cloud Atlas: Up and down and all around kind of movie. Loved it though. Tom Hanks as that wicked mobster author was my favourite. Lots of colour and character in this one, and food for thought. (The more sensitive should abstain from watching this clip, or better freeze before he falls down.)
  • Lo and Behold: Werner Herzog’s documentary on the subject of the Internet. Meaningful and exemplary. Started to follow him on Twitter too.
  • Boyhood: They were filming it for 12 years! The star went from 7 to 18! What if he didn’t grow up just right for the role? Plus Ms. Patricia Arquette who is good people.
  • A Dangerous Method: Loved this one, despite everything – it’s about Jung and Freud, after all. And Ms. Knightley. I hope it portrays goings-on as they really happened.
  • Force Majeure: NOT a catastrophe movie I thought it was. And it’s Swedish! Made me wish to make her some tea.
  • Hello I Must Be Going: I love Ms. Lynsky. She is born on my birthday but in my sister’s year. A rather different love story.

Here are some that I still enjoyed watching, even though they were not really urgently necessary.

  • I’m Not There: Original take on biopics. Bob Dylan’s soul in different bodies. Ms. Blanchett wins.
  • 20,000 Days on Earth: Nick Cave. Nick Cave. Nick Cave.
  • Atonement: Read the Ian McEwan book and picture Ms. Knightley. Even though photography is nice.
  • Sleeping Beauty: 2011; nothing to do with the fairy tale, more like a nightmare. Disturbing but rightly so.
  • The Meddler: Susan Sarandon is my mom. 😮 Rather Hollywoodly but with the heart of gold.
  • Silver Linings Playbook: Happy-go-lucky-depressives go a-dancing.
  • Ender’s Game: Yes, after the book. Only watched it to bitch, but I didn’t since the author supervised the filming. Still: read the book.
  • The Body: A Catalan crime tale with a twist, slickly done.
  • Hunt for the Wilderpeople: A feel-good New Zealand teen flick.

Then there were three which really bounced off with minimum impact, possibly due to high expectations.

  • Only Lovers Left Alive: No matter how much I love Mr. Jarmusch and Ms. Swinton, this one was stretching it.
  • Captain Fantastic: Nah – no matter how I’m going to celebrate Noam Chomsky day too now. But what is it saying? If you’re hip you get to bully and steal with no prosecution? It’s the same old, just the opposite.
  • Inglourious Basterds: Nahhhhh, didn’t buy this one. Just silly.

As for the series, I watched one random part of Black Mirror to see what’s the dillio. Cool, but need to see more for an opinion. I hear Westworld is the direction to go, too.

And filmwise I’m looking forward to, to name but a few, The High Sun (“Zvizdan”), Detachment, Nightcrawler, The Salt of the Earth, Whiplash, The Spectacular Now, Sicario, Where to Invade Next, The Imitation Game, Blue Ruin, and A Bigger Splash.

Before I leave you with an assortment of outdoor furniture calling you to see a film outside, I invite you to leave your opinion on the films I’ve seen, or to name any that you think I’d love based on the ones I’ve enjoyed already.  Thank you.

ADD-IT: Whiplash was whooo-that-boy-can-play and aaaa-that-man-is-a-mofo, whereas The Spectacular Now was more low-key and young-oriented. Yes, I watched both today, and by chance they both feature the same actor, previously unknown – to me: Teller. Mr. Miles Teller.

Photo: a © signature mmm production

43 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Wow – I know so few of these. No wonder I stink at the Entertainment category in Trivia Crack 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Dan, don’t feel left out, I tend not to choose the most obvious candidates, you know? You can still tell me your favourite… even if it’s a crane movie. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Joanne Sisco says:

      Thanks Dan – I feel in good company now 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Well, Joanne, Dan hasn’t told me his favourites yet, maybe you will. 🙂

        Like

      2. Joanne Sisco says:

        I fear I would deeply disappoint you – I never grew up. Off the top of my head, all my favourite movies are for kids …. Shrek, Monsters Inc, Hocus Pocus.

        There! I just divulged a deep, dark secret 🙂

        … I tend to pick movies based solely on who’s in them. Kevin Spacey and Tom Hanks would be automatics – as would Sandra Bullock. I think I’ve seen Miss Congeniality a million times.

        Told you I was a lightweight in the movie category 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ohh, lightweight is not a problem. Have a look at my movie list in About me. Plenty of fluffiness there too. An Officer and the Gentleman was my aaaah film when I was growing up. And Kevin Spacey IS an automatic.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Joanne Sisco says:

        That’s because of Richard Gere – an automatic ‘ahhh’ … or maybe that should be “AHHHH’ 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jan says:

    There are a couple of movies I will always watch if they’re on even though I’ve seen them many times – Tender Mercies and A Hard Day’s Night. Atonement is an awesome movie though generally I’m not a fan of Keira – I’ll check out the others. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment, Jan. I wouldn’t mind seeing either again after so much time.

      Like

  3. joey says:

    I like a lot of these films, particularly Cloud Atlas and Inglourious Basterds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to hear, Joey. Any other I should watch? As for the latter, I usually love Tarantino but I think I’m not a big fan of Mr. Pitt in this one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        I feel like it’s a distinctly American movie. I think Americans might enjoy it more than many.
        I dunno what you like…How bout a wide range? Enchanted April, American Beauty, Deadpool, The Last Samurai, The Color Purple, The Order, American History X, A Good Year, The Family Stone, The Ninth Gate — Seriously, I could go on for days, but those are ones we’ve sorta watched recently.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, Joey! You can go on and on and on as much as you are able. I love getting recommendations. I like my films to be a bit more than solely entertainment or action without spunk. And I don’t mind if they talk a lot, or subtitles. From your list I’ve seen five (1, 2, 5, 7, 10), all worthwhile, especially American History X. I’ll probably see The Last Samurai and The Order – seeing that it takes place in Roma.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah, The Order has got terrible reviews, did you watch the Heith Ledger one?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. joey says:

        Yes, Heath Ledger. I love that movie, don’t care about the reviews.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ok, just to confirm, I found at least two films with the same title.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Joanne Sisco says:

        Actually I think he’s exactly why I really like Inglourious Basterds.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Joanne, this film was the first I saw after a long time almost without films. I was a huge Tarantino fan in the past, but didn’t see the last few by him. I thought to start with this one. I should think again.

        Like

      8. Joanne Sisco says:

        Funny – I’m not a Tarantino fan. He’s work is much to violent for me and, ironically, even though Inglourious Basterds is very violent, it appealed to me because I thought it was so well done … And it made me laugh. Does that make me a bad person? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Hihih, not at all. I think I was on the side of the Germans though. 😀

        Like

      10. Joanne Sisco says:

        HAHAHAHAHA!!! Nice one – no one’s ever admitted that before 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. What a nice idea to share your opinion about movies and divide it in three categories. A few I’ve already seen and a few make me now curious to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I’m glad you approve of it, Markus. How about a couple of suggestions from you? 🙂

      Like

      1. ..hhhmmm, let me think about it. In brief I would say (besides AMELIE,…):

        movies:

        K-PAX: Kevin Spacey at its best. A man pops up in New York and claims to be from the out of space… …surprisingly with a lot of extra terrestrial knowledge. – tender, smart and touching movie

        – CONTACT (Jodie Foster as a SETI scientist searches for extra terrestrial intelligence… …and…) …btw, two of two movies about things from outta space… …aahhh, was not on purpose. 🙂

        documentary:
        THE OTHER FINAL …okay, true, it’s about football… …but it’s a great documentary from a dutch producer who try to arrange a national game between the both teams from the very bottom of the FIFA ranking: BUTHAN vs. MONSERAT ..first leg in Monserat, second leg in Bhutan with hundreds of monks as supporters. Nice. Human. ..and a true story 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ah, that’s what I’m talking about! I’ve seen Amelie and Contact more than once, K-Pax rings a bell but I’m not sure even though I love Mr. Spacey, and the last one is totally unknown. I love that!! Thank you, Markus!!!

        Like

      3. Contact… …15 times at least… …love it!!
        Hey, Manja.. …give Kev a chance! You will love it! …if not you can force me to watch one of the movies I hate! This movie is very uncommon.

        Like

      4. Pssst, and it’s on YouTube! 🙂

        Like

      5. ..what K-PAX.. …or the movie you want me to force to watch in case..?

        Like

      6. No no, you read wrong, I LOVE KEVIN! I’ll watch K-PAX for sure. What I mean is that The Other Final is on YT. 🙂 I’ll watch it right now.

        Like

      7. Oooopps…. yeah, Kev kicks ass!
        Thank you for telling me… ….I bought it on Amazon. 😡👎
        😂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh, so much here to take in! A couple were already on my list because of stuff you’d written me earlier (the Leo document and A Dangerous Method), and some I’ve seen… like Only Lovers Left Alive (I actually liked it – not much of a plot but I loved the visuals, and sometimes that’s enough) and Cloud Atlas (which I didn’t like at all and couldn’t bring myself to finish). I really recommend Racing Extinction, if you still have room for one more documentary abut environment! It was one of the best things I’ve seen in ages and I think everyone on the planet should watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OK, thanks, SMSW, saving “Racing Extinction” for when I’m in the mood. Recently, my films reflect the reality a bit too much. Today I watched “Detachment” which is so good but also so hard-hitting. So I feel hit hard. :p Yes, I liked “Whiplash” too, even though I was bleeding as well a little watching it. Too bad about “Cloud Atlas”. 😀 “And Only Lovers Left Alive” I didn’t hate, just expected a bit more. Thank you for your input, always glad to hear from you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. PS. I liked Whiplash 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    Although I like books with substance, I prefer my movies to be pure entertainment. I think of movies like dessert – no nutritional value, but they make me feel good 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I see. I like my films just like my books – worthwhile. Hollywood blockbusters make me wish to eat a shoe.

      Like

      1. Joanne Sisco says:

        Ahhh – so be thankful you didn’t have 2 sons and get dragged to every big bang, crash ’em, smash ’em movie! Shoe leather is tough on the digestion after a while 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.