Thursday Doors, August 24 2017

The town is called Milje if you ask us, and Muggia if you ask them. It lies in Italy just across the border, that’s why there are many Slovenian families living behind these doors.

I remember vividly reading Ishita’s 10 Charming Small Towns in Italy post on her Italophilia blog. I hadn’t known many of them but Muggia I knew, by signs if not by sight, since I had driven past it often when I still lived in Slovenia but never visited it. I could hardly believe that this town, in my mind more or less industrial, could win her heart and make the list.

Have a look yourselves and see how wrong I was.

It looked pretty enough from above but after a stroll appeared nothing special (say I, spoilt by Tuscany). It was with Ishita in mind that we proceeded in search of what it was that made it so worthwhile for her, and found the lovely old part of town. Another example of blogging influencing life.

On a side note, here is a little tease: a site that collects old doors in order to sell them. You know you want them.

Photo: © signature mmm

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

27 Comments Add yours

  1. joey says:

    That is a charming place. I’m loving the window in the featured photo, the quirky dual mailboxes, and YES, I want to buy all the old doors! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 I know it, that site is very alluring. And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    That first shot of the town from above is…sigh…wonderful 😀
    And so many lovely door too. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Norm. I wished to include this shot even though there are no doors in it. Something about it…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s beautiful. I would buy the doors if i have a house 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Sunny Days, maybe one day. 😉 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. conspicari says:

    Love the Green door with the diamond shape windows. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Conspicari. Quite a peculiar one indeed.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jesh stg says:

    Yeah, it has happened to me too (more than once), the secret is to walk to the end! Lovely doors Manja, and the shape of that church is priceless! Love the truck too. Enlighten me, that’s the thing about Italian rice?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Jesh. 🙂 I’m glad I know this secret. Italians are just good at it, rice and pasta. Slovenians have been buying Italian rice forever.

      Like

  6. fkasara says:

    Lovely town!! OMG, the shape of that church’s facade! :O

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey, Sara, good to see you around! Thank you, Muggia been a lovely surprise.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fkasara says:

        yeah sorry, lately I’ve sucked at reading and commenting…first Florence, then life aka problems #sigh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Don’t worry, I’ve been pretty absent myself, visiting Slovenia all this time. Sunday back…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. fkasara says:

        Just in time for the new heat wave…you left Italy with Lucifer and now you are going to find Polyphemus LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      4. 😮 Damn! We will begin to fear summers.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. ostendnomadography says:

    hehe, recognised Muggia immediately:)! Such a nice lovely town! Always nice to see pictures and brings the memories back:).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, Ostend, I had a feeling you might recognise it. 🙂 I’m really happy that we went. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Great doors. I love the working shutters, and that green door near the end is sweet !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Dan, I’m glad the door is green enough for you as well. 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ishita says:

    Yay!! So glad you made it there and I made it happen 😉 Love your photos..xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, girl! I’m glad too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ishita says:

    Thank you for keeping me in mind cara!! I am so so happy.. Have just shared it on my Instagram stories. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great to hear it, Ishita. I love these examples of how blogging ripples. Keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Like something from a film set indeed. What a lovely little town!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lisa, and the best news is: it’s got the sea too! 😉 The very end of the Adriatic. The water is so shallow that you can see the bottom throughout (almost). We were hopeful to see some dolphins one day on a boat trip, but no luck. They come and go, and the organisers know them by name.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.