Thursday Doors, June 8 2017

Another funky Thursday. Listening to funk, feeling the funk. Have some funky doors from Montemerano.

This is a tiny village close to Terme Saturnia, a wild bathing spot with a warm waterfall and all. For some reason it often makes the top ten list of must-see Italian villages. I mean, not that it’s not especially lovely, but so is almost every one I visit around here. Good PR, I say, and location. It suits me: where there is a village, there are doors.

Here are some doors and such from Montemerano then and you can guess my mood since I’ve turned some into black and white.

But there is always a blue lining. Look closely and you’ll see that the first and the last photo go together.

Photo: © signature mmm

Times call for a bit of soundtrack. I can’t believe I was 18 when this came out.

For Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors challenge.

32 Comments Add yours

  1. conspicari says:

    Great set of doors, really like image No.9. :>)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Conspicari. You mean 9th from the top, right? Because no door is on No. 9. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. conspicari says:

        Yes 9th from the top. :>)

        Liked by 2 people

  2. bikerchick57 says:

    Very nice door photos! This village seems so cozy, so inviting, so pretty. There would be no need for PR, in my case, to make me want to visit. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Mary, of course not, I meant it only in comparison with other villages. The entire Italy is pretty much to die for.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bikerchick57 says:

        I have never been to Europe, so I think I would love any little village. The streets and buildings have so much character and history! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yes, this is true. I hope you get over here one day!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. carol1945 says:

    Great door collection. I especially like the “featured” door. Everyone on WordPress has a unique way of presenting their images and thoughts; that is what I like about it.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Indeed, Carol. 🙂 I like this too. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. BeckyB says:

    Great doors, and looks like a town I would enjoy exploring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Becky. Oh yes, Italy is very explorable. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BeckyB says:

        It is somewhere I have never been!! Really really must explore more of mainland Europe

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ianbcross says:

    How scrupulously clean Europe is (I think it must be Europe) compared to the environment around my doors in Delhi

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, Italy is in Europe. I never post outside of Europe (since I only did 2 weeks in California a loooong time ago, all the rest is Europe). If you say clean for Italy, I wonder what you’d think of Switzerland or Austria. 🙂 I think your eyes might hurt.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    Always beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joey. In unrelated news, I just saw you liked the opossum mom on FB. I must admit that when I first saw it you came to mind for some reason… 😉 And I adore your doors this week!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joey says:

        Well good 🙂 I should like to be thought of as a mama who takes great care of her young 🙂
        Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Dan Antion says:

    I love these doors, so many arches. I have to wonder if the bland solid arches were filled in or if they were designed like that. In either case, nice job!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Dan, you always notice things I never would. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. J Walters says:

    As always, these are terrific. My favourite is the green door. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, J. 🙂 Italy just keeps on giving, doors and all.

      Like

  9. jesh stg says:

    Have to say, it’s the arches on the road that make these little towns so adorable. Have an attraction to Roman type of doors (with the rounded top) as well:) Great post as always, Manja!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Jesh. Yes, you’re right. The arches make them look like a haunted amusement park for adults. 🙂

      Like

  10. fkasara says:

    Lovely 😍❤❤

    I have to come back in Tuscany! It has passed too much time *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Sara, for sure, I hope you do! All you need to do is just turn to the right a little when you go to Rome. 🙂 And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Well, you’re in a funky mood today, Manja. Lovely photos, I like the black and white, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, Jean, it shows, doesn’t it. Much better today. And thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Norm 2.0 says:

    Another wonderful collection of small town Italian beauties. Is it okay if I both admire and at the same time feel a little jealous?
    Seriously though, I have to figure out a way to spend my summers in Italy 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Norm. I see a huge difference in expressing jealousy if you compare Europe and your continent. I think we see admission of jealousy as a weakness, whereas you all are obviously spurred to express it, as if to purge. That said, I’ve never felt any jealousy from you (or other door providers), so a little is okay. 🙂 In any case, getting over here will heal you of it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Candy says:

    So many wonderful doors! I especially like the green one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Candy. Green ones are usually winners for me too.

      Like

  14. Nice funky collection! Looks like you got the whole village or most of it and got some great finds!

    Like

Talk to me

